Flying Boomerangs and World Team following their 2022 clash at Gosch's Paddock. Picture: Riley Lockett/AFL Photos

Eighty of the most promising 16-and-under boys footballers with Indigenous and multicultural backgrounds from across Australia will come together in Melbourne next week.

The players will take part in the Flying Boomerangs and World Team programs, which will run from Monday, September 18 to Wednesday, September 20.

The Flying Boomerangs and World Team programs are elite talent development pathway programs designed to give participants an opportunity to develop their football skills and be involved in a leadership and cultural program to enhance their personal development.

The Flying Boomerangs squad comprises Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islander talent, while the World Team is made up of players with a parent born outside of Australia. Both squads comprise 40 players from across Australia.

Players to have previously featured in the Flying Boomerangs program include Melbourne premiership defender Steven May and Richmond two-time premiership midfielder/forward Shai Bolton. All-Australian duo Adam Saad and Aliir Aliir are among the players to have previously represented the World Team.

As part of next week’s three-day program, players will take part in personal development and cultural workshops, football training sessions and recovery programs.

A highlight of the program will be double-header of matches at Trevor Barker Beach Oval on Tuesday, September 19.

The matches provide an opportunity for players to push for selection for the 2024 AFL Diversity Academy programs.

AFL National Diversity Talent Manager Pauly Vandenbergh said: “We are thrilled to have the Flying Boomerangs and World Team squads coming together in Melbourne next week.

“Being involved in the Flying Boomerangs and World Team programs is an important and exciting step in the talent development and journey of our participants both as young footballers and young men.

"One of the main goals of the Flying Boomerangs and World Team programs is to create an environment for participants to experience the standards and expectations of talent pathway programs and to provide our young athletes with the tools to succeed in the talent pathway system.

“The programs are based on four key pillars: cultural identity, decision making, resilience and communication.

“For these young boys with diverse backgrounds to come together as a group, bond and learn from each other and experience the program is an important part of their development on and off the football field.”

Recently-appointed Port Adelaide development coach Jason Williams will coach the Flying Boomerangs, with former AFL players Patrick Ryder, Ben Davis and Joel Garner also part of the coaching panel, along with coaching mentor Michael McLean.

The World Team will be coached by Harmit Singh, alongside assistants Majak Daw, Trent Dennis-Lane, Ali Hamad and Goy Lok.

Continue below for the match details for Tuesday’s talent showcase matches between the Flying Boomerangs and World Team.

Flying Boomerangs vs. World Team
Tuesday, September 19
Game 1 commences at 1:00pm. Game 2 commences at 3:15pm
Trevor Barker Beach Oval, Sandringham

HOW TO WATCH: Please click here to watch a live stream of the Flying Boomerangs vs World Team matches.

SQUADS: Continue below to view the Flying Boomerangs and World Team squads.



1 Jermaine Miller SA South Gawler Central
2 Crix Johnston WA Booragoon
3 Deacon McGuire WA Coolbinia
5 Jason Butterworth QLD Gladstone Suns
6 Michael Galway VIC Narre North Foxes
7 Keenan Boi VIC Officer
8 Nathias Miler NT Imalu Tigers
9 Basil Hart WA Carey Park
19 Ricky Ninyette WA Bullcreek Leeming
10 Zackariah Young SA North Adelaide/Port Districts
12 Archie Devine TAS North Hobart
14 Elijah Buckskin SA Port Districts
15 Jayden Conroy QLD Cairns North Tigers
16 Ricky Ninyette WA Bullcreek Leeming
20 Mason Kreuger SA Encounter Bay
21 Russell Clark VIC Wentworth
22 Thomas Phillips WA Scotch College
23 Tanner Armstrong VIC Scotch College
25 Tyrone Malthouse NT Federal
32 Jake Caton WA East Perth
34 Kairyce Lowah NT St Mary's


1 Teo Cayento SA North Whyalla
2 Rishabh Arcot NSW Southwest Sydney Ingleburn
3 Marcus Prasad VIC Dromana
4 Khaled El Souki VIC Yarraville-Seddon Eagles
5 Riki Tucker SA Colonel Light Garden
6 Joshua Burness QLD Yeronga
7 Alex Arthur NSW Bermagui Breakers
8 Jerry Kim NSW Kellyville Rouse Hill Magpies
11 Asher Tan SA Brighton Districts
14 Mason Tambe SA Athelstone
15 Tevita Rodan VIC Aberfeldie
16 Jai Saxena VIC Beverley Hills
17 Lachlan Price NSW Balgowlah Suns
20 Jess Bula TAS Lanceston
25 Xavier Tuinauvai NSW Willoughby Mosman Swans
26 Ivan Wilkinson SA Unley Jets
30 Tethloach Liem VIC Eastpoint
31 Chase Mijts TAS North Launceston
36 Damian Steyn VIC Gisborne



2 Malakai Mackie QLD Yeppoon Swans
3 Caylen Murray QLD Maroochydore Roos
4 Kyran Cole-Manolis NT Pioneer
7 Nathanael Newman NSW Manly Bombers
8 Lazarus Lamilami NT Goulburn Island
9 Lane  Fettell NSW North Broken Hill
10 Tyson McGuire WA Coolbinia
11 Aiden Way SA Port Augusta Souths
12 Laqueinton Johnston NT Wanderers
13 Chanstan Peris NT Nightcliff Tigers
16 Juraiya Calma-Long NT St Mary's
22 Peter Taylor WA South Hedland Swans
24 Tom  Wichman NSW Collingullie Glenfield Park Demons
29 Cody Walker VIC Echuca
30 Edward Darcy NT Palmerston Magpies
31 Harley Bell QLD Cairns Saints
33 Jaxon William Hay TAS Ulverstone
38 Heath William Mercer NSW Willoughby Mosman
39 Tyane Thomas TAS North Launceston


5 Toby Whan WA Roleystone
9 Hok Marial VIC St Albans
10 Joshua Nathan WA Bull Creek Leeming
11 Zack Hately WA South Perth Stingrays
12 Hau-Tze Rock NT Nightcliff
13 Rhama Evans WA Brigades
18 Russel Parry VIC Whitehorse Colts
19 Dylan Noble WA Victoria Park
21 Sioeli Fangaloka VIC Mildura
22 Tyson Black WA Rockingham Rams
23 Adam El Houli VIC Northern Saints
24 John Stephens WA Upper Swan
27 Jesse Mellor VIC Geelong West
29 Lachlan Everrets VIC Rowville Hawks
34 Chanro De Beer WA Coolbinia
33 Wal Wal NT Rovers
34 Chanro De Beer WA Coolbinia
37 Garrison Kenh WA Brigades
38 Bhan Gatluak NT Rovers
39 Noah Midani WA Rockingham Rams