THE MAKE-UP of next season's AFL national women's league is likely to be confirmed by the end of May, with 13 clubs lodging bids for licences by the Friday deadline.

The AFL wants to give the eight chosen clubs maximum time for the massive task of organising teams for the competition starting next February.

AFL game development general manager Simon Lethlean and his department have 13 applications to scrutinise, with licences expected to be granted to four Victorian clubs and one each in South Australia, Western Australia, NSW and Queensland.

"We'll review what we've got in the next week and provide copies for discussion with the (AFL) executive in the coming fortnight. After that, we'll take that discussion to the AFL Commission and try to round it out within the month if we can,'' Lethlean said.

It's likely a special AFL Commission meeting will be held to table recommendations for the inaugural women's league.

Late on Friday, the Sydney Swans decided not to apply to field a team.

BIDDING CLUBS: Adelaide, Brisbane Lions, Carlton, Collingwood, Fremantle, Geelong, Greater Western Sydney, Melbourne, North Melbourne, Richmond, St Kilda, West Coast, Western Bulldogs.

LIKELY MIX: Four clubs in Victoria and one each in South Australia, Western Australia, Queensland and New South Wales.

WHAT’S NEXT? The AFL executive will assess the 13 bids and make recommendations to the AFL Commission.