FORMER Adelaide midfielder Mitch Grigg has enhanced his chances of receiving an AFL lifeline after winning his second straight Magarey Medal as the best and fairest player in the SANFL.

The 25-year-old claimed the highest honour in South Australian football on Wednesday night, the Norwood star polling 26 votes across 18 games.

Grigg has won back-to-back Magarey Medals since being delisted by the Crows at the end of 2016.

He played 20 games for Adelaide after being selected with the 41st overall pick in the 2011 NAB AFL Draft.

Grigg is the first player to take out the prestigious honour in consecutive years since Sturt premiership player Damian Squire in 1999 and 2000.

GET TO THE GAME All your finals ticketing info

Grigg hit the front in the medal count after round five, and after relinquishing the lead in the middle of the season, regained it by polling three votes in round 16.

He finished two votes clear of Central District's Travis Schiller on 24, with James Boyd (Eagles) and Nick Liddle (South) another two votes back on 22.

Grigg will turn his attention to Sunday's major semi-final when minor premier Norwood takes on the Eagles at Adelaide Oval.

Meanwhile, Central District winger Peter Vivian, Glenelg ruckman and general manager, the late Harry Kernahan, and Port Adelaide premiership forward Darren Smith were inducted into the SA Football Hall of Fame.

2018 Magarey Medal leaderboard

Mitch Grigg (Norwood) 26 votes
Travis Schiller (Central) 24 votes
Nick Liddle (South) 22 votes
James Boyd (Eagles) 22 votes
Abe Davis (South) 18 votes
Zane Kirkwood (Sturt) 18 votes
Matt Panos (Norwood) 18 votes
Kaine Stevens (West) 18 votes
James Battersby (Sturt) 17 votes
Max Thring (North) 15 votes