SYDNEY SWANS midfielder Josh Kennedy is now a dual club champion after taking out the 2015 Bob Skilton Medal on Friday night.

Kennedy – who won his first best and fairest in the Swans' last premiership year of 2012 – capped off a brilliant season by taking the award from All Australian Dan Hannebery, with co-captain Kieren Jack in third. 

The former Hawk led the competition for contested possessions, stoppages and clearances this year, and has now incredibly finished on the best and fairest podium in each of his six seasons in Sydney.  

Kennedy finished in fourth place in the Brownlow medal with 25 votes and showed his consistency by polling votes in every game of 2015, although he was overlooked for All Australian selection this year.

He was awarded maximum votes (50) by the Swans coaching staff in round 21 against Greater Western Sydney for his 35 possessions and two goals, plus the club's qualifying final loss to Fremantle, when he had 39 touches, including an extraordinary 16 in the third term.

The loss to the Dockers was the last of 11 straight games that Kennedy amassed 30 or more possessions to set a new League record.

Kennedy credited a mid year heart to heart with midfield coach Josh Francou for inspiring his amazing second half of the season.

"I remember going into Joshy's office after we'd played North Melbourne and I thought a had a pretty good game, and he said 'I thought you were pretty average' and it hit me like a ton of bricks," Kennedy said after accepting his award from the man after whom it is named, Bob Skilton.

"From then on I worked with him and Stuey (assistant coach Stuart Dew) and Horse (senior coach John Longmire) and my teammates to try and get to what I felt was the required standard. 

"I needed all that support and from then I got in a good frame of mind and it all clicked into gear."

It was a big night for the powerful midfielder who also took out the Players’ Player and the Paul Roos awards for player of the finals. 

Swans coach John Longmire said Kennedy's second club champion gong was reward for yet another fantastic year.

"Josh’s season was outstanding and his consistency in being the only player to poll in every game was really impressive. He is able to perform at a high level week in, week out," Longmire said. 

"He led the club in the key statistical areas, continues to look for ways to improve his game and each season he delivers."

Final Standings
Josh Kennedy - 831 votes
Dan Hannebery  - 742
Kieren Jack - 586
Heath Grundy - 575
Jarrad McVeigh - 568
Dane Rampe - 559
Luke Parker  - 523
Kurt Tippett - 482
Tom Mitchell - 464
Nick Smith - 460 

* Votes were awarded by five Swans coaches (John Longmire, John Blakey, Stuart Dew, Henry Playfair and Josh Francou). Coaches can allocate up to 10 points for as many or as few players as they deem appropriate, per match.

Other awards:
The Paul Kelly Players' Player Award – Josh Kennedy
The Rising Star Award – Isaac Heeney
The Dennis Carroll Trophy for the Most Improved Award – Tom Mitchell
The Barry Round Best Clubman Award – Rhyce Shaw
Paul Roos Award for Best Player in the Finals – Josh Kennedy