JOEL Selwood has been named the 2013 Four'N Twenty All Australian captain, with the Geelong skipper one of four Cats winning honours in the team of the year.  

The three-time premiership star added a new element to his game in 2013, kicking 28 goals through the home and away season and averaging 26 disposals. It was the third time he has been named in the side. 

Fellow Cats Corey Enright, Harry Taylor and Andrew Mackie were also in the 22-man team, with Enright notching the honour for the fifth time. 

Mackie was one of 12 players to be selected in the side for the first time. 

Collingwood and the Sydney Swans each had three players selected in the team, while premiership favourites Hawthorn had two players and Fremantle had only one.    

Elite midfielders Scott Pendlebury and Dane Swan represented the Magpies, along with Travis Cloke, who was picked in the forward line. 

It was Swan's fifth consecutive All Australian guernsey and the fourth in a row for onball partner Pendlebury. 

On track for a second Brownlow Medal, Gold Coast champion Gary Ablett was named an All Australian for the seventh year in a row – the first player to achieve that feat. 

The 29-year-old was named vice-captain of the team to Selwood, with who he played in the 2007 and 2009 premierships at Geelong.

The Swans' contingent was led by co-captain Jarrad McVeigh, who was named an All Australian for the first time after his stellar season stationed at half-back. 

Kieren Jack won a spot on the half-forward flank, while emerging midfielder Daniel Hannebery was also named on the interchange bench.  

With Nathan Fyfe considered an unlucky exclusion, Fremantle defender Michael Johnson was the only Dockers player to make the side, despite their surge into the top four. 

The omission of Hawks skipper Luke Hodge also appears likely to be a talking point as the dust settles on the 2013 team after a terrific season patrolling half-back. 

But Hawthorn fans will not be too disappointed, given Sam Mitchell appeared to take his spot after being named on the half-back line. Hawks spearhead Jarryd Roughead was settled in the forward pocket. 

Adelaide star Patrick Dangerfield (half-forward) and Essendon captain Jobe Watson (interchange) made it back-to-back appearances in the side. 

Although it included some regulars, the All Australian team of this season was built on new faces. 

Port Adelaide's stunning rise was acknowledged, with captain Travis Boak and brilliant forward pocket Chad Wingard winning selections. 

Wingard, in only his second AFL season, played every game and kicked 40 goals in the home and away season, including several match-winning hauls. 

At 19, Wingard is the youngest player to make the All Australian team since Mark Ricciuto in 1994. 

He was not the only second-year player in the team, however, with Greater Western Sydney's Jeremy Cameron named at full-forward. 

Surprisingly, Cameron won the full forward's role ahead of Coleman medallist Roughead. 

North Melbourne defender Scott Thompson's career-best season was rewarded with a spot in the back six, while Western Bulldogs pair Ryan Griffen and Will Minson also won spots after standout seasons.  

The Fremantle and Sydney Swans players were not in attendance as the team was announced at Melbourne's Royal Exhibition Building on Monday night. 

The All Australian selection panel comprises Andrew Demetriou (chairman), Kevin Bartlett, Luke Darcy, Mark Evans, Danny Frawley, Glen Jakovich, Cameron Ling and Ricciuto.