ISAAC Smith has reclaimed his throne as the king of Hawthorn's pre-Christmas time trial, defeating 2015 winner Billy Hartung on Wednesday.

Smith, the villain of Hawthorn's after the siren qualifying final loss to Geelong, took out the 2.2km time trial with a 10-second margin.

The midfielder has now won five of the Hawks' past six time trials.

"[The run] was pretty cruisy," Smith told

"We just have to get our time, and we have a bit more of a serious one later on."

Hartung held onto second place ahead of Jonathan O'Rourke, with Ben Stratton and Liam Shiels rounding out the top five.

Hawthorn time trial top five

1st – Isaac Smith
2nd – Billy Hartung
3rd – Jonathan O’Rourke
4th – Ben Stratton
5th – Liam Shiels