WESTERN Bulldogs great Brad Johnson will be aiming to lead Victoria to back-to-back victories in the EJ Whitten Legends game against the All Stars at Adelaide Oval on Friday night.

Johnson will captain a star-studded squad of retired players including three-time premiership player Josh Gibson, Jude Bolton, Dustin Fletcher and Anthony Koutoufides.


Victoria claimed a controversial one-point win last year when Jonathon Brown kicked the match-winning goal, despite the mark clearly being taken after the final siren in front of a crowd of 13,106 at Etihad Stadium.

Former Port Adelaide hardman Chad Cornes leads a quality All Stars outfit featuring Adelaide high flyer Tony Modra, dual Norm Smith Medallist Andrew McLeod and Cameron Mooney.

This year will be the first time the game has been played in Adelaide since 1999 when the All Stars claimed a two-point victory – 8.8 (56) to 7.12 (54).

Victoria has the overall edge with 11 wins, with 10 to the All Stars and one draw.

Both teams have been forced into a late change.

Brett Montgomery has been ruled out of the Victorian team with a calf injury, while former Sydney defender Lewis Roberts-Thomson is a scratching from the All Stars team, also with a calf complaint. 

All Stars v Victoria at Adelaide Oval on Friday night, August 31, 7pm ACST

All Stars: 1. Richard Champion. 2. Andrew Jarman. 3. Shaun McManus. 4. Daniel Motlop. 5. Scott Thompson. 6. Tony Modra. 7. Brett Ebert. 8. Alan Didak. 9. Ash McGrath. 10. Paul Williams. 11. Peter Burgoyne. 12. Paul Hasleby. 15. Adrian Fletcher. 17. Darryl White. 18. Sean Wellman. 20. Dean Brogan. 21. Cameron Mooney. 23. Andrew McLeod. 25. Sam Fisher. 26. Mark Bickley. 27. Dennis Armfield. 29. Shaun Smith. 32. Andrew Embley. 34. Troy Luff. 35. Chad Cornes (captain). 36. Brian Lake. 41. Brent Staker. 44. Nathan Bock.

Coach: Malcolm Blight
Assistant coaches: Graham Cornes, Neil Kerley, Gavin Wanganeen
Runner: Greg Blewett

Victoria: 1. Matthew Primus. 2. Chris Johnson. 4. Brad Johnson (captain), 5. Austinn Jones. 6. Josh Gibson. 7. Luke Power. 9. Jess Sinclair. 11. Joel Smith. 12. Matthew Lappin. 13. Tom Lonergan. 14. Jason Johnson. 15. Daniel Harford. 16. Daniel Giansiracusa. 20. Drew Petrie. 21. Tony Brown. 24. Jude Bolton. 25. Ted Richards. 26. Ben Johnson. 28. Paul Dimattina. 30. Campbell Brown. 31. Dustin Fletcher. 32. Travis Cloke. 33. Kris Barlow. 34. Mark Graham. 39. Tony Liberatore. 43. Anthony Koutoufides.

Coach: Terry Wallace
Assistant coaches: Phil Maylin, Doug Hawkins
Runner: Damien Fleming