JACK Riewoldt has become the first Richmond player to claim three Coleman Medals after North Melbourne's Ben Brown couldn't overtake the Tigers spearhead in the last game of the regular season.

Riewoldt, who also won the League's goalkicking award in 2010 (with 78 goals) and 2012 (65), kicked 65 majors for the reigning premiers this season.

THINGS WE LEARNED It's been a horror year for SA footy

Brown, who led the race for the Coleman for much of the year, needed to boot seven goals in the Kangaroos' round 23 clash with St Kilda to draw level with Riewoldt.

But he could only manage three to finish second to the Tigers star.

"I thought it would have been great reward for his season," North coach Brad Scott said of Brown's Coleman tilt.

"I thought a Coleman Medal would have done justice to his season, but he's still an All Australian in my eyes."

GET TO THE GAME All your finals ticketing info

A superb 10-goal effort from Riewoldt in a big round 21 win over Gold Coast proved pivotal, with another five majors in a round 23 win over the Western Bulldogs getting him over the line.

Riewoldt played 22 games this season and was held goalless just twice – a loss to Adelaide in round two and a round 10 win over St Kilda when he was concussed in the opening minutes.

FROM THE TWOS Giant, Pie on comeback trial

The 29-year-old, who has won his club's leading goalkicker award every year since 2010, has improved his career tally to 602 goals, which places him fifth on the club's all-time leading goalkickers list just behind Michael Roach on 607.

Riewoldt's two winning tallies of 65 goals were the lowest to claim the Coleman since Hawthorn's John Peck won with 56 in 1965.

He joins Peck, Jason Dunstall, Gary Ablett snr and Matthew Lloyd as players who have won the League's goalkicking award three times. 

Multiple winners
7 Dick Lee (Collingwood)
6 Gordon Coventry (Collingwood)
5 John Coleman (Essendon)
4 Fred Fanning (Melbourne), Doug Wade (Geelong/North Melbourne), Peter Hudson (Hawthorn), Tony Lockett (St Kilda/Sydney), Lance Franklin (Hawthorn/Sydney)
3 John Peck (Hawthorn), Jason Dunstall (Hawthorn), Gary Ablett snr (Geelong), Matthew Lloyd (Essendon), Jack Riewoldt (Richmond)