CLUB CAPTAINS Katie Brennan, Steph Chiocci and Lauren Arnell are among the inclusions for next month’s NAB AFL Women’s state of origin match.

But Carlton forward Darcy Vescio and Adelaide co-captain Erin Phillips have been forced to withdraw from the September 2 match between Victoria and the Allies at Etihad Stadium. Vescio is injured and Phillips will be overseas. 

Also new to the Victoria squad are Demon Lauren Pearce Blue Sarah Hosking and Magpies Jasmine Garner and Jaimee Lambert. Demon Bianca Jakobsson and Crow Stevie-Lee Thompson are in the Allies. 

The AFL also confirmed the game would feature ‘Supergoals’, with majors kicked from outside 40m worth nine points. 

"The match provides a great opportunity for us to be creative about how we showcase the best female players in the country," the AFL’s head of female football Josh Vanderloo said.


Sarah Perkins (Adelaide), Kaitlyn Ashmore (Brisbane Lions), Lauren Arnell, Brianna Davey, Alison Downie, Sarah Hosking, Nicola Stevens (Carlton), Steph Chiocci, Jasmine Garner, Jaimee Lambert (Collingwood), Kara Donnellan (Fremantle) Alicia Eva, Jess Dal Pos (GWS), Karen Paxman, Daisy Pearce, Lauren Pearce, Melissa Hickey, Lily Mithen, Jasmine Grierson (Melbourne), Ellie Blackburn, Emma Kearney and Hannah Scott (Western Bulldogs)

Chelsea Randall, Ebony Marinoff, Courtney Cramey, Stevie-Lee Thompson (Adelaide), Sabrina Frederick-Traub, Emily Bates (Brisbane Lions), Emma Zielke, Jess Wuetschner, Kate McCarthy, Leah Kaslar, Sam Virgo (Brisbane Lions), Tayla Harris (Carlton), Emma King (Collingwood), Ebony Antonio, Kirby Bentley, Dana Hooker (Fremantle), Erin McKinnon, Emma Swanson, Renee Tomkins (GWS), Elise O'Dea, Bianca Jakobsson (Melbourne) and Katie Brennan (Western Bulldogs)

An under-18 state of origin match will be played as a curtain-raiser, featuring players from the All Australian squad. The NAB AFL Women’s Under-18 All Australian team will be announced after the match.