ST KILDA has pulled a recruiting curveball by acquiring axed Geelong ruckman Ryan Abbott as a delisted free agent on Friday.

Abbott will move to Moorabbin after being cut by the Cats last month with a year to run on his contract

Geelong had committed to re-drafting Abbott as a rookie next week if he wasn't able to find a new home, however the Saints swooped in the final hours of the delisted free agency window.

The 28-year-old, who played five games across three seasons on the Cats' list, will join on his existing one-year contract with triggers for a second season in 2021. 

After parting with Billy Longer and Lewis Pierce at season's end, the Saints' ruck division now features Abbott, No.1 Rowan Marshall and the recently added Paddy Ryder. 

Abbott is the sixth addition to the Saints' list since season's end after landing Ryder, Bradley Hill, Dougal Howard, Dan Butler and Zak Jones.

Find Road to the Draft on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts and Spotify.

"With Rowan and Paddy we believe the ruck position will be a real strength in 2020, but it is an area we have been looking to add depth to," Saints list boss James Gallagher said.

"Signing Ryan provides great cover and bolsters our overall list. 

"While he has had limited opportunities at Geelong, he's shown that he is more than capable at AFL level both in the ruck and as a marking option up forward.

"He is a strong character and we are really looking forward to Ryan joining the club immediately."

>> Follow the 2019 NAB AFL Draft on Fox Footy from 6.30pm AEDT on Wednesday, November 27 and Thursday, November 28. Not a Foxtel or Kayo subscriber? Cal Twomey, Nat Edwards, Riley Beveridge and Mitch Cleary bring you Draft Night Live on and the AFL Live Official App, from 6.30pm AEDT on Wednesday, November 27.

It leaves Geelong's ruck stocks thin heading into 2020 with Abbott joining Zac Smith (Gold Coast) in departing GMHBA Stadium since October. 

Rhys Stanley remains as the club's No.1 ruckman with support from Darcy Fort and pinch-hitters Esava Ratugolea and Josh Jenkins.