SUBURBAN footballer James Shirley has upstaged the professionals to take out the 13CABS Grand Final Sprint.

Shirley flew home to claim the $5000 prize in the final at half-time of the Grand Final at the MCG.

North Melbourne's Majak Daw started strongly in his quest to win back-to-back titles.

But Shirley, a 28-year-old from the Murrumbeena Football Netball Club, overtook Daw about halfway in and wasn't headed from there.

Geelong's Jed Bews powered home to grab second, with Daw rounding out the top three.

Past winners

2015 Majak Daw (North Melbourne)
2014 Jordan Murdoch (Geelong)
2013 Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide)
2012 Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide)
2011 Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide)
2010 Luke Miles (St Kilda)
2009 Rhys Stanley (St Kilda)
2008 Matthew White (Richmond)
2007 Jake King (Richmond)
2006 Brendan Fevola (Carlton)
2005 Brett Deledio (Richmond)
2004 James Walker (Fremantle)
2003 James Walker (Fremantle)
2002 Jared Crouch (Sydney Swans)