DAYNE Zorko has won his second successive Merrett-Murray Medal with a comfortable win at the Brisbane Lions' best and fairest count on Saturday night.

Zorko, who was one of four joint winners last year, tallied 122 votes to edge out fellow 2015 victors Mitch Robinson (110) and Stefan Martin (106).

Pearce Hanley and captain Tom Rockliff rounded out the top five revealed at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre.

It was a disastrous year for the Lions, but Zorko was a thoroughly deserving winner after compiling the best of his five seasons in the AFL.

The pocket dynamo midfielder played 20 games, averaged 24 disposals and kicked 23 goals.

"It's quite an honour to be joining some of the greats of the club that have won two Merrett-Murray medals," Zorko said.

"To be quite honest, I'm speechless.

"I tried to forget about the results and just go about playing my role for the team every week.

"It's just a reward for consistency throughout the year."

The 27-year-old was consistently the Lions' most damaging player.

It was a sombre night for the club after a three-win season, with sacked coach Justin Leppitsch not attending.

Chairman Bob Sharpless said the board could only do so much and the players had to "want it" in 2017.

Robinson continued his remarkable career revival, with a well-earned second place.

Playing largely as a tagger, the 27-year-old kept some of the game's biggest names quiet and averaged 22 disposals himself.

The awards night completed a tumultuous week for the club in which it barely avoided the wooden spoon last Sunday and sacked coach Justin Leppitsch on Monday.

The voting system sees the senior coach and his assistants score players based on their overall performance, influence on the game, team contribution/role, and compliance with team values and core areas of the game plan. 

The most votes a player can receive for a game is 12. 

Merrett-Murray Medal Top 10
Dayne Zorko - 122
Mitch Robinson - 110
Stefan Martin - 106
Pearce Hanley - 104
Tom Rockliff - 103
Daniel Rich - 102
Ryan Bastinac - 100
Darcy Gardiner - 97
Ryan Lester - 94
Harris Andrews - 92