Main content

Country win hands title to Metro

Victoria Country has ended the National's AFL under 18 championships on a high after thrashing Western Australia by 46 points at Optus Oval on Sunday in the final match of the carnival, yet the division one title has been won by Victoria Metropolitan.

Country 12.14 (86) defeated the Sandgropers 5.10 (40) to notch up its second win of the championships, but because Vic Metro defeated Vic Country in the opening division one match, the city slickers gain the title.

With each division one team entering the final day of the carnival with one win each, the result of the championship was decided by the two winners on Sunday - Vic Metro and Vic Country.

When those two teams met earlier in the week, Vic Metro thrashed Vic Country by 63 points meaning Metro was the overall winner.

Had Western Australia claimed the points over Vic Country, the Sandgropers would have won the title as the Sandgropers claimed a thrilling two-point victory over Vic Metro last Wednesday at Geelong.

Vic Country had plenty of key contributors, with Jordan Lewis, Chris Egan, Matt Rosa and Tim Sherringham all terrific players. The quartet racked up 90 touches.

For Western Australia, Beau Wilkes was his side's best player with 22 disposals, while young-gun Mitchell Morton and Ashton Hams, who was a fine player in the championship, were among the Sandgropers best.

The opening term was an even contest, with two goals registered from both sides, yet Vic Country managed to take a two-point lead into quarter-time.

Both teams wasted scoring opportunities in the first-half, but Vic Country again had the slight edge in the second term thanks to a goal after the siren from Clinton Young, who gave his side a six-point lead at the main break.

Vic Country broke away in the third term with six goals to zip, as Western Australia mustered just two behinds for the quarter. In a disappointing period for the Sandgropers, Aaron Bowers was reported for striking Vic Country's Marcus Drum.

With the result all but over heading into the final term, both sides added a further two goals each, but it was all academic as Vic Country cruised to a convincing victory.

Meanwhile, the Larke Medal for the best player in division one of the championships was awarded to Jesse W.Smith - the son of former Kangaroos player Ross - from Vic Metro, after his outstanding carnival.

Victoria Country: 2.5 4.8 10.11 12.14 (86)
Western Australia: 2.3 3.8 3.10 5.10 (40)

Goals: Vic Country: Lewis 2, Roughead 2, Young 2, Deledio, Egan, Kirkby, Marsh, Pendlebury, Rosa
Western Australia: Franklin, S.Jones, Morton, Swallow, Wilkes
Best: Vic Country: Lewis, Sherringham, Roughead, Egan, Moloney, Marsh
Western Australia: Wilkes, Delmenico, Morton, Franklin, Jo.Smith, Cooper