Main content

No Danger for Grand Final sprinters

Cyril ready, Danger silent plus more Matt Thompson and Nat Edwards with all the Grand Final footy news.
Patrick Dangerfield of Adelaide wins the Gillette Sprint during the 2012 Toyota Grand Final match between the Hawthorn Hawks and the Sydney Swans at the MCG, Melbourne. (Photo: Sean Garnsworthy/AFL Media)
Patrick Dangerfield has foregone the chance to make it four crowns in a row
REIGNING champion Patrick Dangerfield will not participate in this year's 13CABS Grand Final sprint, paving the way for a new winner to be crowned.

Dangerfield, who has held the title for the past three years, has decided not to participate this year, with All Australian teammate Brodie Smith chosen as his replacement.

Geelong's Jordan Murdoch is likely to start as favourite for the event this year, having posted one of the fastest ever 20m sprint times at the AFL Combine – stopping the clock at 2.86 seconds.

Murdoch's run and carry ability has been evident in his football this season.

Hawk Billy Hartung and fellow youngster Ben Kennedy from Collingwood are also likely to be in the mix, while Demon Jayden Hunt has a reputation for being quick.

West Coast's Will Schofield and the Western Bulldogs Jason Tutt are others who should feature prominently.

The heats for the event will be held at 12.30pm ahead of the  start of the Hawthorn-Sydney Swans game, with the final of the sprint to be run during the half-time break, at approximately 3.40pm.

2014 Grand Final Sprint participants

                  Brodie Smith
Brisbane Lions       Daniel McStay
Carlton                     Kane Lucas
Collingwood            Ben Kennedy
Essendon                Patrick Ambrose
Fremantle                Zac Dawson
Geelong                  Jordan Murdoch
Gold Coast             Jarred Ellis
GWS                        Adam Tomlinson
Hawthorn                Billy Hartung
Melbourne              Jayden Hunt
North Melbourne    Luke McDonald
Port Adelaide         Andrew Moore
Richmond               Bachar Houli
St Kilda                   Clint Jones
Sydney Swans       Daniel Robinson
West Coast             Will Schofield
Western Bulldogs  Jason Tutt

GF sprint Winners of the Modern Era 

2002    Jared Crouch (Sydney Swans)
2003    James Walker (Fremantle)
2004    James Walker (Fremantle)
2005    Brett Deledio (Richmond)
2006    Brendan Fevola (Carlton)
2007    Jake King (Richmond)
2008    Matt White (Richmond)
2009    Rhys Stanley (St Kilda)
2010    Luke Miles  (St Kilda)
2011    Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide)
2012    Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide)
2013    Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide)

Paddy Dangerfield shows a clean pair of heels to the field in 2013. Picture: AFL Media