Main content

What time does the 2015 AFL Grand Final start?

Grant Birchall and Jack Gunston of the Hawks with fans after the 2014 Toyota AFL Grand Final match between the Sydney Swans and the Hawthorn Hawks at the MCG, Melbourne on September 27, 2014. (Photo: David Callow/AFL Media)
Hawks Grant Birchall and Jack Gunston celebrate with fans after the 2014 Toyota AFL Grand Final

THE 2015 Toyota AFL Grand Final will start at 2.30pm AEST on Saturday, October 3 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. 

The Grand Final traditionally takes place on the last Saturday in September. 

• Your five-minute guide to the Grand Final

However, 2015's Grand Final takes place in October because of a later start to the season forced by the Cricket World Cup, which was held in Australia and New Zealand in February and March.

It will be the 27th October Grand Final in VFL/AFL history. The last was in 2011, when Geelong defeated Collingwood for the Cats' third premiership in five years. 

Who's shouting loudest? Check out trending teams, plus the best of your finals pics at the AFL Finals social hub 

Overseas start times
United Kingdom: 5.30am, Saturday
Europe: 6.30am, Saturday (western); 7.30am, Saturday (eastern)
USA: 9.30pm, Friday (west coast); 12.30am, Saturday (east coast)
Dubai: 8.30am, Saturday
New Zealand: 5.30pm, Saturday
Thailand: 11.30am, Saturday
Japan: 1.30pm, Saturday
Bali: 12.30pm, Saturday

• Overseas Grand Final party finder

Who is headlining the Grand Final entertainment?

Canadian rocker Bryan Adams is the headline act for this year's Grand Final entertainment.

The Summer of '69 singer joins UK singer Ellie Goulding and American crooner Chris Isaak at the event.