Main content

Larger lists locked in for second season of AFLW

GOLD COAST, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 25:  Crows players celebrate during the AFL Women's Grand Final between the Brisbane Lions and the Adelaide Crows on March 25, 2017 in Gold Coast, Australia.  (Photo by Jason O'Brien/Getty Images)
Who can stop the Crows in season 2018?

AFLW clubs will field larger playing lists for the 2018 season.

Adelaide, the inaugural NAB AFL Women’s competition premier, confirmed the changes in a post on the club website on Wednesday afternoon.

The eight clubs will have 30-player lists – 27 so-called primary players plus three rookies. The rookies will not be eligible to play unless they are elevated to the primary list to replace an injured player.

Clubs will be able to sign up to 22 primary-list players from May 1-19, the designated signing and trade period. A one-week free agency period will follow, from May 20.

Under rules in place for the first season of the competition, all players were signed to one-year contracts.

Unsigned players will be able to nominate for the annual draft from September 4-29. The draft will held on October 18.