Main content

Out-of-favour Tiger, star Giant headline free agents list

Captains feel the heat, turf trouble, Swan's setback Nat Edwards and Mitch Cleary with all the latest news

OUT-OF-FAVOUR Tiger Brandon Ellis and in-demand Giant Stephen Coniglio are two of only three restricted free agents in this year's free agency pool.

Joining them on the list of 61 players is fellow restricted free agent Jack Newnes, the St Kilda wingman whose latest two-year deal is set to expire.

Players paid in the top 25 per cent at their club are restricted free agents.

SLIMMER PICKINGS? Why 2019's free agency crop is different

An unrestricted free agent can move to the team of his choice, whereas clubs can match any offer a restricted free agent agrees to.

Ellis re-signed after his strong 2017 season, where he was a key contributor down back in Richmond's drought-breaking premiership.

He slipped out of the Tigers' senior side for a month between rounds six and nine last year, was also left out of both finals and also started this season in the VFL.

Coniglio is arguably the most coveted of all free agents, with interest in him coming from all over the country, including his home state Western Australia.

CASHING IN Red-hot Giant to make most of career sweet spot

The 25-year-old kicked off the year with a game-high 31 disposals and three goals in Greater Western Sydney's 72-point thumping of Essendon on Sunday.

Ruckmen Todd Goldstein and Nic Naitanui are among the game's highest-paid players, but have unrestricted status because each has spent at least eight years at their club and are out of contract.

The rule previously kicked in at 10 years.

Other interesting names on the unrestricted list are in-form Sun Alex Sexton, Collingwood's Jamie Elliott, Docker Stephen Hill, Hawthorn captain Ben Stratton and All Australian Tiger Shane Edwards.

Sam Jacobs
Richard Douglas
David Mackay
Andy Otten
Cameron Ellis-Yolmen

Ryan Lester

Matthew Kreuzer
Ed Curnow
Levi Casboult
Kade Simpson

Ben Reid
Jamie Elliott
Tyson Goldsack


Mark Baguley
David Myers

Stephen Hill
David Mundy
Aaron Sandilands
Hayden Ballantyne

Harry Taylor
Jed Bews

Sam Day
Tom Nicholls
Alex Sexton
Michael Rischitelli


Stephen Coniglio (restricted)
Adam Tomlinson
Matthew Buntine

Grant Birchall
Shaun Burgoyne
Paul Puopolo
Ryan Schoenmakers
Ben Stratton

Nathan Jones

Todd Goldstein
Majak Daw
Scott Thompson
Sam Wright

Matthew Broadbent
Justin Westhoff

David Astbury 
Shane Edwards
Brandon Ellis (restricted) 
Bachar Houli 
Shaun Grigg 


David Armitage 
Jarryn Geary 
Jack Newnes (restricted)

Harry Cunningham
Heath Grundy 
Jarrad McVeigh 
Nick Smith 

Nic Naitanui 
Chris Masten
Will Schofield 
Fraser McInnes

Tory Dickson 
Tom Liberatore 
Dale Morris 
Liam Picken
Fletcher Roberts