Main content

UPDATE: Gill backs 'practical' call on Rampe incident

Rampe climbs goal post and almost costs Swans Dane Rampe jumps onto the goal post during David Myers' after-the-siren kick

AFL CEO Gillon McLachlan has said the umpire handled a bizarre act by Dane Rampe after the final siren with common sense.

The Swan attempted to climb the goal post as Bomber David Myers lined up for a set-shot to win the match from well outside the 50m arc in an attempt to boost himself upwards.

Under AFL rule 17.11, a free kick shall be awarded against a player or official who intentionally shakes a goal or behind post (either before or after a player has disposed of the football).

SWANS ALIVE, BOMBERS DIVE Full match details and stats

Although Rampe was not deliberately shaking the post, his decision to climb up the post could have constituted a free kick and a shot for goal for Essendon from directly in front.

Umpire Andre Gianfagna ran towards the goalsquare and said "Down, down" to warn Rampe while Myers' shot was in the air.

"I'll wait and see what the umpiring department and footy department says, but for me it seemed pretty practical umpiring," McLachlan told SEN on Saturday.

"Apparently there's lots of different camera angles, but he gave him the warning, the guy got down, and it didn't impact on the play.

"For me, it's a bit analogous to a guy who's a metre over the mark, [the umpire] says, 'come back or it's 50', and the guy comes back. If it doesn't, it's a free kick. That seems to be a very practical response. 

"People will get into the technicality of what the rule says, but if he stayed there, it would have been a free kick."

Part a of rule 17.11 states the player from the attacking team who was about to or who has kicked for goal shall take the free kick at the centre of the goal line.

Therefore, Myers would have taken the kick from the goalsquare, all but handing Essendon an unlikely victory.

Essendon lost by five points.

It was not the only strange thing Rampe was involved in on Friday night, with the defender also having an exchange with umpire Jacob Mollison earlier in the game.

When Rampe was caught holding the ball after failing to hear the umpire's call, the Swans defender told Wallace that he "talks like a little girl".

The AFL confirmed on Saturday afternoon that Rampe would not be sanctioned for the incident.

 
17.11 SHAKING GOAL POST OR BEHIND POST

17.11.1 Free Kicks - Shaking Goal Post or Behind Post

Unless Law 17.11.3 applies, a Free Kick shall be awarded against a Player or Official who intentionally shakes a goal or behind post (either before or after a Player has disposed of the football).

17.11.2 Taking Free Kick

The following shall apply to a Free Kick awarded under Law 17.11.1:

(a) If a Free Kick is awarded against a Player or Official of the Defending Team and a Goal is not scored, the Player from the Attacking Team who was about to or who has Kicked for Goal, shall take the

Free Kick at the centre of the Goal Line.

(b) If the Free Kick is awarded against a Player or Official of the Attacking Team, the Player on the Defending Team who was nearest to the position from where the football will be or has been Kicked shall take the Free Kick

from that position. For the avoidance of doubt, any Goal or Behind which would have been recorded in favour of the Attacking Team but for the awarding of the Free Kick, shall not be recorded.

17.11.3 Goal Scored

If a Player or Official of the Defending Team contravenes Law 17.11.1 but a Goal is still scored, the field Umpire shall not award a Free Kick. In such cases,

the field Umpire shall signal ‘All Clear’ and a Goal shall be recorded.