Jaeger O'Meara and Tom Mitchell have been named as Hawthorn vice-captains. Picture: AFL Photos

BEN STRATTON will captain the Hawthorn Football Club for a second-straight season, with six other players making up the rest of the leadership group.

Tom Mitchell and Jaeger O'Meara have been named co-vice captains, with Mitchell joining the leadership group for the first time.

The Hawks haven't seen Tom Mitchell in action since his Brownlow Medal winning year of 2018. Picture: AFL Photos

Jack Gunston was the sole vice-captain last year, but has chosen to relinquish his title.

Gunston has remained in the leadership group however, with Isaac Smith, Liam Shiels, Ben McEvoy rounding out the group.

Stratton is excited to take his leadership to a new level in 2020.

"It's been a big 12 months of development, both for us as leaders and for the wider playing group," Stratton said.

"I'm confident the experience and lessons learned will only strengthen my leadership going forward, and I'm excited to see what 2020 brings."

Hawthorn's general manager of football Graham Wright believes Mitchell and O'Meara will benefit greatly from the new opportunity.

"With Jack stepping down as vice captain, it opens up an opportunity for Tom and Jaeger to further demonstrate why they’re so well regarded by their peers," Wright said.

"They both possess professionalism and work ethic of the highest calibre."

"Alongside 'Stratts', we know they'll continue to drive the standards of our football club both on and off the field."