THURSDAY night is teams night on and the AFL Live Official App.

For so long a staple in the typical football week, we must sit and wait for the return of the flurry of line-ups dropping at 6.20pm AEST.


So instead, we're winding back the clock to pull apart one match-up from history.

Adelaide and Port Adelaide are split by one win in their history of 47 encounters.

Who would win the 48th game with the best side's picked from the respective outfits from 1997 (Port Adelaide's first year) to now?

00:00 Mins
Published on

The Showdown: A South Australian institution

Check out what make the Showdown one of AFL's great rivalries

Published on

ADELAIDE (1997-2020)

B: Ben Hart, Ben Rutten, Graham Johncock
Andrew McLeod, Daniel Talia, Nigel Smart
Simon Goodwin, Mark Ricciuto, Mark Bickley
Tyson Edwards, Taylor Walker, Patrick Dangerfield
Eddie Betts, Tony Modra, Darren Jarman
Shaun Rehn, Scott Thompson, Rory Sloane
Inter: Scott Welsh, Michael Doughty, Peter Vardy, Nathan Bassett

This was tough – and somewhat controversial. Tony Modra makes it to the side despite leaving at the end of 1998. He might not have played in any premierships during his time with Adelaide, but his 1997 season yielded 84 goals and a Coleman Medal. That's enough to get him in. Shaun Rehn also just pips Sam Jacobs in the ruck, thanks to his part in the club's success in the late '90s. Peter Vardy won games off his own boot, while Darren Jarman basically won premierships off his own boot – kicking six in the '97 Grand Final and five in the '98 Grand Final – meaning both slot into the side just ahead of Brett Burton, Richard Douglas and Tom Lynch. The rest of the team is so strong, it virtually picks itself. – Riley Beveridge

00:00 Mins
Published on

Fantastic Five: Tony Modra's best moments

Take a look back at some of the greatest moments from speccie specialist Tony Modra

Published on

PORT ADELAIDE (1997-2020)

B: Gavin Wanganeen, Darryl Wakelin, Michael Wilson
HB: Shaun Burgoyne, Chad Cornes, Brett Montgomery
C: Roger James, Josh Francou, Kane Cornes
HF: Stuart Dew, Warren Tredrea, Byron Pickett
F: Chad Wingard, Jay Schulz, Robbie Gray
R: Brendon Lade, Travis Boak, Peter Burgoyne
Inter: Josh Carr, Matthew Primus, Justin Westhoff, Adam Kingsley

The quality of midfield depth forced Showdown specialist Josh Carr (never beaten) to the bench and the unlucky Dom Cassisi to miss out completely. Shaun Burgoyne starts at half-back given much of his early time at Alberton was spent in defence and will form an attacking pairing with Wanganeen. Boak, who has played the third most AFL games for the club, starts on the ball with Kane Cornes and James able to rotate through. There are weapons everywhere in the forward half, with Schulz getting the nod at full-forward with an impressive record of more than two goals a game. Westhoff's versatility means he can play anywhere, while Lade starts in ruck ahead of Primus given his weight of games and the fact they share a similar record. Lade will drift forward when Primus enters the fray. – Mitch Cleary

05:05 Mins
Published on

Fantastic Five: Best of Warren Tredrea

Take a look back at some of the greatest moments from the Port Adelaide champ

Published on


Overall: Adelaide 24 wins, Port Adelaide 23 wins
Finals: Adelaide one win, Port Adelaide winless

Port Adelaide players celebrate a Showdown win in 2009. Picture: AFL Photos


Eddie Betts v Gavin Wanganeen: This same match-up appeared in our earlier Carlton v Essendon contest. Two of the great indigenous players of the modern era going head-to-head as two of the most dangerous players on the ground. While Betts would be attempting the ridiculous from the pockets, he'd need to be wary of Wanganeen the other way.

Ben Hart v Chad Wingard: Very little got past the Adelaide champion during his 311-game career. But the threat of Wingard in the air and on the ground would prove a handful. While Johncock would likely take Gray, Hart would be left to deal with Wingard's brilliance.

Taylor Walker v Chad Cornes: There would be no lack of passion in this contest. Cornes never shied away from speaking about the importance and would need to be at his best to stop Walker who has the most goals in Showdown history.

Taylor Walker and Kane Cornes have a chat back in 2014. Picture: AFL Photos


Mark Ricciuto (R7, 2000): It was Roo as his best. The champion midfielder booted four goals to go with a career-high 41 disposals and 11 clearances, willing the Crows back from a 42-point deficit early in the third term. There was no chance anyone else was claiming his first of three Showdown medals.

Chad Wingard (R19, 2013): An absolute day out for the small forward who had celebrated his 20th birthday just six days prior. He kicked his third major at the start of the final term before kicking two more late to steal a famous victory that had the Power trailing by 20 points at the 22-minute mark of the final term. Throw in 24 disposals and the Showdown Medal was a lock.

Robbie Gray (R8, 2018): A six-goal performance that produced the best individual quarter in Showdown history. A kicking his first goal on the stroke of half-time to bring the Power back to within 21 points, Gray exploded during the third quarter. He kicked five of the Power's seven majors for the term before they scraped home courtesy of Steve Motlop. 


1. Kane Cornes, Andrew McLeod (27 matches)
2. Scott Thompson (25 matches)
3. Chad Cornes, Tyson Edwards, Justin Westhoff (24 matches)


1. Taylor Walker (43 goals)
2. Robbie Gray (38 goals)
3. Eddie Betts (35 goals)
4. Warren Tredrea (30 goals)
5. Justin Westhoff (29 goals)


1. Josh Francou (14 votes)
2. Robbie Gray (12 votes)
3. Mark Ricciuto (11 votes)
4. Patrick Dangerfield, Sam Jacobs, Andrew McLeod, Gavin Wanganeen (10 votes)


A bounce Shane Warne would tip his hat to. With Port Adelaide trailing by eight points with less than two minutes on the clock, forward Angus Monfries delivered with a canny slick of luck.

00:00 Mins
Published on

Miracle from Monfries

Incredible bounce keeps Port in the hunt

Published on