PORT Adelaide star Robbie Gray has capped a sensational 2014 season by claiming his first John Cahill Medal as the Power's best and fairest.
Gray took the lead in the count from vice captain Brad Ebert in round seven and never looked back, winning with 398 votes from skipper Travis Boak (255) and four-time club champion Kane Cornes (237).
The Coaches' Association Player of the Year was crucial in the Power's surge the preliminary final, averaging 25 possessions a game and leading the competition for goal assists (33).
He managed 25 disposals and three goals in the club's three-point loss to Hawthorn in the preliminary final.
Gray's 42 goals saw him finish third on the club's goal-kicking tally behind Jay Schulz (66) and Chad Wingard (43).
He played all 25 of the Power's games this season, polling in all but two appearances and eight times he gained top votes from coach Ken Hinkley, director of coaching Shaun Hart and assistants Matthew Nicks, Tyson Edwards and Josh Carr.
"Some of the greats have won it before and to be recognised alongside some of those is definitely a huge honour," Gray said.
"I think I was able to play the most consistent footy I've been able to play this year and the body's been really good.
"The main thing is that the group keeps playing some good footy.
"We want to have a big summer and get back [to the preliminary final] next year and go a couple better."
For the second year running 19-year-old midfielder Ollie Wines took out the Gavin Wanganeen Medal as the club's best player under 21 years of age.
Ruckman Matthew Lobbe won the coaches award, while Ebert was awarded the John McCarthy Award, which recognises outstanding service to the community.
Ebert sits on the board of the Sammy D Foundation, a charity aiming to combat youth violence and alcohol/drug issues.
Boak won the Fos Williams Medal after the playing group voted him the player who best displayed leadership, selflessness, professionalism, courage and loyalty in 2014.
2014 John Cahill Medal
1. Robbie Gray – 398 votes
2. Travis Boak – 255
3. Kane Cornes – 237
4. Justin Westhoff – 232
5. Matt Lobbe – 227
6. Jay Schulz, Ollie Wines – 220
8. Hamish Hartlett – 219
9. Chad Wingard – 208
10. Tom Jonas – 185
Fos Williams Medal: Travis Boak
Gavin Wanganeen Medal: Oliver Wines
Wok In A Box Supporters’ Player of the Year: Robbie Gray
John McCarthy Award: Brad Ebert
Coaches’ Award: Matthew Lobbe