MELBOURNE has beaten the Western Bulldogs by 46 points in the second AFL women's match, prevailing in a skilful and willing contest at Etihad Stadium on Sunday. 

Demon Chelsea Randall won the most valuable player award, finishing with 23 possessions, 14 marks and two goals, one of which was an innovative back-heel in the first quarter. 

Led by captain Daisy Pearce, Melbourne was in front at every change and held the Bulldogs scoreless in the final term to record back-to-back wins in the annual match, 10.12 (72) to 4.2 (26).  

Melbourne's forward line was far too strong for the undersized Bulldogs' defence, with Queensland teenager Tayla Harris kicking three goals.

West Australian Kirby Bentley and Victorian Meg Hutchins also booted two goals each for the Demons, with the Bulldogs unable to contain the attacking trio. 

The Bulldogs made sure it was a tight after half-time and they won the third quarter, conceding just 0.3 to 1.0 with their pressure going up a notch. 

Victorian Aastar O'Connor was their best player, toiling hard in the ruck and finishing with 24 possessions, 11 marks and 36 hit-outs, also pushing hard into defence.  

Moana Hope kicked three of the Dogs' four goals, providing a highlight in the third quarter when she crumbed with clean hands and snapped brilliantly.   

Emma Kearney also stood out for the Dogs, working hard with a number of gut-busting runs through the midfield, while forward Katie Brennan presented well all day. 

Both sides were committed and impressed with their skills, with Harris kicking her third goal for the Demons after a brilliant mark in the final term. 

Melbourne controlled possession in the first half and led by 18 points at quarter time. 

Harris booted back-to-back goals in the second term as the Demons extended their lead to 29 points, but wasteful kicking in front of goal cost them an even bigger buffer.

The victorious Demon women with their trophy. Picture: AFL Media

MELBOURNE 4.2   7.7   7.10   10.12 (72)
WESTERN BULLDOGS 1.2   3.2   4.2   4.2 (26) 
Melbourne: Harris 3, Randall 2, Bentley 2, Gibson 2, Dunn
Western Bulldogs: Hope 3, O'Dea 

Melbourne: Randall, Blackburn, Forch, Pearce, Bowers, Harris  
Western Bulldogs: O'Connor, Kearney, Brennan, Hope, Paxman, Spark  
Melbourne: Nil 
Western Bulldogs: Nil 
Official crowd: 5500