RICHMOND and the Western Bulldogs will kick-off a Big Bash-style 20 consecutive days of AFL matches on Wednesday week.

The Tigers-Dogs game, to be played Wednesday July 29, two days after the completion of round eight, will be the first of 33 matches to be jammed into rounds nine to 12 of the 2020 Toyota AFL Premiership Season.


Double headers will occur on the Thursday nights in round nine and 10, on the Monday night of round 11, and on the Wednesday night of round 10. 

Four teams will have a bye in round 10, while another two won't play in round 11.

05:32 Mins
Published on

Milestone Sam, Tex's mission, Higgo's worst day

Nat Edwards with all the latest footy news

Published on

Within the condensed fixturing, North Melbourne will be scheduled to play in Hobart in rounds 11 and 12.

GWS and Sydney will head to Perth for a block of matches, after Collingwood and Geelong return after round nine.

No matches are scheduled to be played in Sydney in the rounds nine to 12 block.

18:58 Mins
Published on

AAA Ep7: The moment Blues blew it, how selection calls have saved a season

Matthew Lloyd and Damian Barrett discuss all of the fallout from an exciting round seven

Published on

As part of the agreement of players to subject themselves to four-day breaks during rounds 9-12, the AFL has allowed for clubs and players to finalise contract negotiations.

Being able to strike that deal was important to the players, for professional security reasons, given the extraordinary circumstances they are working under in the COVID-19 interrupted 2020 season.

ROUNDS 8-12 Check out the full fixture

The postponed Essendon-Melbourne match from round three, when Bomber Conor McKenna recorded a positive test to COVID-19, will be fixtured after round 12. 

The Bombers and Demons won’t be given a bye before round the round 17 completion of the season, as that postponement has been deemed as a "bye".

Round nine

Wednesday, July 29 

Western Bulldogs v Richmond, Metricon Stadium, 7.10pm AEST 

Thursday, July 30

Carlton v Hawthorn, Optus Stadium, 3.40pm AWST
Melbourne v Port Adelaide, Gabba, 8.10pm AEST 

Friday, July 31 

Essendon v Brisbane, Metricon Stadium, 7.50pm AEST

Saturday, August 1 

North Melbourne v Adelaide, Metricon Stadium, 2.35pm AEST
St Kilda v Sydney, Gabba, 5.10pm AEST
West Coast v Geelong, Optus Stadium, 6.10pm AWST 

Sunday, August 2 

Gold Coast v Greater Western Sydney, Metricon Stadium, 3.35pm AEST
Fremantle v Collingwood, Optus Stadium, 4.10pm AWST 

Round 10 

Monday, August 3 

Port Adelaide v Western Bulldogs, Adelaide Oval, 6.40pm ACST 

Tuesday, August 4 

Richmond v Brisbane, Metricon Stadium, 7.10pm AEST

Wednesday, August 5 

Geelong v North Melbourne, Gabba, 5.40pm AEST
Adelaide v Melbourne, Adelaide Oval, 7.40pm ACST 

Thursday, August 6

Collingwood v Sydney, Gabba, 5.40pm AEST
Gold Coast v St Kilda, Metricon Stadium, 8.10pm AEST 

Friday, August 7

Essendon v Greater Western Sydney, Metricon Stadium, 7.50pm AEST

Byes: Fremantle, West Coast, Hawthorn, Carlton

Round 11

Saturday, August 8

Port Adelaide v Richmond, Adelaide Oval, 4.05pm ACST
Brisbane v Western Bulldogs, Gabba, 7.40pm AEST

Sunday, August 9

West Coast v Carlton, Optus Stadium, 1.35pm AWST
North Melbourne v Melbourne, Blundstone Arena*, 6.10pm AEST

Monday, August 10

Geelong v St Kilda, Gabba, 6.10pm AEST
Fremantle v Hawthorn, Optus Stadium, 6.40pm AWST

Tuesday, August 11

Adelaide v Collingwood, Adelaide Oval, 6.40pm ACST

Wednesday, August 12

Gold Coast v Essendon, Metricon Stadium, 7.10pm AEST

Byes: Greater Western Sydney, Sydney 

Round 12

Thursday, August 13

Sydney v Greater Western Sydney, Optus Stadium 6.10pm AWST

Friday, August 14 

Geelong v Port Adelaide, Gabba, 7.50pm AEST

Saturday, August 15

North Melbourne v Brisbane, Blundstone Arena*, 2.35pm AEST
Melbourne v Collingwood, Gabba, 5.10pm AEST
Fremantle v Carlton, Optus Stadium, 6.10pm AWST

Sunday, August 16 

Western Bulldogs v Adelaide, Metricon Stadium, 1.05pm AEST
St Kilda v Essendon, Gabba, 3.35pm AEST
West Coast v Hawthorn, Optus Stadium, 4.10pm AWST 

Monday, August 17 

Richmond v Gold Coast, Gabba, 7.10pm AEST 

*pending border restrictions being eased