RICHMOND has further diluted the level of experience in Saturday's team that will face the Western Bulldogs with the withdrawal of Brandon Ellis, Shane Edwards, David Astbury and Reece Conca.

Already without Trent Cotchin, Jack Riewoldt, Troy Chaplin, Brett Deledio, Dustin Martin and Ivan Maric, the Tigers will go in young against an almost full strength Dogs side.

Captained by Steven Morris, the Tigers will feature three recent draftees and four rookies, as well as Chris Knights on return from two injury-plagued seasons.

The heat policy is in force at Whitten Oval with both teams permitted to abandon the use of substitutes and instead take in an expanded bench.

The Tigers have opted to play seven off their interchange and the Bulldogs eight.

The Dogs trimmed Tom Campbell, Jordan Kelly and Ayce Cordy from their 29-man squad 90 minutes before the first bounce.

They'll be captained by Robert Murphy for the first time while Tom Boyd will take to the field in his new colours after crossing from Greater Western Sydney last year.

The Saints have opted not to give top draftee Hugh Goddard a NAB Challenge debut, resting the youngster for Saturday afternoon's clash in Burpengary with the Brisbane Lions, along with Josh Saunders and Jack Sinclair.

The Lions' line-up looks strong with Dayne Beams suiting up for his first game for the club. Nick Robertson, Tom Cutler and Zac O'Brien have been cut from the 29-man squad that was named on Thursday.

Burpengary (QLD), Saturday, February 28, 3.10pm AEST

Watch a live stream of this game on the Brisbane Lions' website or watch via St Kilda's website.

Out: 18. Nicholas Robertson, 26. Tom Cutler, 47. Zac O'Brien
Substitutes: 1. Luke McGuane, 31. Harris Andrews

Out: 33. Hugh Goddard, 35. Josh Saunders, 40. Jack Sinclair
Substitutes: 37. Jack Lonie, 45. Jason Holmes

1. Luke McGuane, 4. James Aish, 5. Mitch Robinson, 6. Josh Green, 7. Jed Adcock, 8. Rohan Bewick, 9. Dayne Beams, 10. Daniel Rich, 14. Brent Staker, 15. Dayne Zorko, 17. Claye Beams, 21. Daniel Merrett, 22. Marco Paparone, 23. Matthew Leuenberger, 25. Daniel McStay, 27. Darcy Gardiner, 28. Lewis Taylor, 29. Jaden McGrath, 30. Jack Redden, 31. Harris Andrews, 32. Sam Mayes, 33. Michael Close, 35. Ryan Lester, 38. Tom Rockliff, 32. Justin Clarke, 44. Archie Smith.

3. Jack Steven, 4. Eli Templeton, 5. Shane Savage, 6. Seb Ross, 8. Blake Acres, 9. Tommy Lee, 11. Leigh Montagna, 14. Jarryn Geary, 15. Jack Billings, 16. Jack Newnes, 17. Dylan Roberton, 18. Billy Longer, 20. David Armitage, 21. Luke Delaney, 22. Farren Ray, 24. Sean Dempster, 25. Sam Fisher, 26. Tom Curren, 27. Josh Bruce, 28. Tim Membrey, 32. Paddy McCartin, 37. Jack Lonie, 38. Ahmed Saad, 39. Cameron Shenton, 44, Maverick Weller, 45. Jason Holmes.

Whitten Oval (Melbourne), Saturday, February 28, 4.40pm AEDT
Out: Tom Campbell, Jordan Kelly, Ayce Cordy
Interchange (no substitutes due to heat policy): Jarrad Grant, Mitch Wallis, Lachie Hunter, Mitch Honeychurch, Josh Prudden, Joel Hamling, Jason Johannisen, Lin Jong
Out: Brandon Ellis, Shane Edwards, Reece Conca, David Astbury
Interchange (no substitutes due to heat policy, Tigers to play with seven on the bench): Ricky Petterd, Liam McBean, Daniel Butler, Reece McKenzie, Matt Arnot, Jayden Short, Jason Castagna  

1. Jarrad Grant, 2. Robert Murphy, 3. Mitch Wallis, 4. Marcus Bontempelli,5. Matthew Boyd, 6. Luke Dahlhaus, 7. Lachlan Hunter, 9. Jake Stringer, 10. Easton Wood, 11. Jackson Macrae, 13. Nathan Hrovat, 17. Tom Boyd, 21. Tom Liberatore, 22. Mitch Honeychurch, 23. Jordan Roughead, 25. Koby Stevens, 27. Will Minson, 28. Josh Prudden, 29. Tory Dickson, 30. Joel Hamling, 32. Michael Talia, 33. Sam Darley, 38. Dale Morris, 39. Jason Johannisen, 42. Liam Picken, 43. Jack Redpath, 46. Lin Jong.

2. Dylan Grimes, 6. Shaun Grigg, 10. Shane Edwards, 11. Jake Batchelor, 13. Ricky Petterd, 15. Chris Knights, 16. Shaun Hampson, 22. Nathan Gordon, 26. Anthony Miles, 27. Sam Lloyd, 28. Taylor Hunt, 29. Ty Vickery, 31. Nick Vlastuin, 34. Liam McBean, 35. Ben Lennon, 36. Matt McDonough, 37. Connor Menadue, 38. Steve Morris, 39. Nathan Drummond, 40. Daniel Butler, 42. Reece McKenzie, 43. Todd Elton, 44. Matt Arnot, 45. Jayden Short, 46. Jason Castagna, 48. Kane Lambert.