THE AFL is pleased to announce the umpiring panel for the 2020 Toyota AFL Grand Final between Richmond and the Geelong Cats, to be played at the Gabba this Saturday, October 24.

Matt Stevic, Simon Meredith and Craig Fleer have been selected as the field umpires with Robert Findlay named as the emergency.


The 2020 Toyota AFL Grand Final will see Stevic officiate his eighth Toyota AFL Grand Final, Meredith his fifth and Fleer his first.

05:22 Mins
Published on

Cats defender on how to stop Dusty, plus what next for the Giants

Damian Barrett and Callum Twomey with all the latest Grand Final and trade news

Published on

AFL Head of Umpiring Grant Williams congratulated each umpire after their selection was finalised on Monday afternoon.

"Matt, Simon and Craig have performed consistently across the entire season and fully deserve their selection in what promises to be a great Grand Final," Williams said.

"I also want to take this opportunity to congratulate each boundary and goal umpire selected for the 2020 Toyota AFL Grand Final and thank every umpire who officiated AFL football this season.

"It has been a season like no other and I acknowledge and thank the commitment and professionalism from each umpire and their families."

Please see below the career statistics of each umpire appointed to the 2020 Toyota AFL Grand Final, including the boundary and goal umpires.


Enjoy the most Incredible Comebacks in AFL history, showing every goal from the most significant margin until the final siren

Watch Now

Field Umpires

Matt Stevic (No.9)
Debut: 2004
Games: 400 AFL matches
Finals: 44
All-Australian: 6 (2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018)
Grand Finals: 7 (2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019)

Simon Meredith (No.21)
Debut: 2004
Games: 387
Finals: 36
Grand Finals: 5 (2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017)

Craig Fleer (No.26)
Debut: 2012
Games: 139
Finals: 4
First AFL Grand Final
Robert Findlay 
Debut: 2009
Games: 254
Finals: 8

Boundary Umpires

Michael Marantelli
Games: 235
Finals: 24
Grand Finals: 3

Ian Burrows
Games: 318
Finals: 36
Grand Finals: 8

Matthew Konetschka
Games: 187
Finals: 21
Grand Finals: 2

Matthew Tomkins
Games: 209
Finals: 23
Grand Finals: 3

Christopher Gordon
Games: 276
Finals: 29
Grand Finals: 4

Goal Umpires

Matthew Dervan
Games: 97
Finals: 12
First AFL Grand Final
Steven Piperno
Games: 107
Finals: 12
Grand Finals: 2
Steven Axon
Games: 253
Finals: 16
Grand Finals: 2