ALL AUSTRALIAN forward Toby Greene has capped a breakout season by winning the Kevin Sheedy Medal as Greater Western Sydney's player of the year.

Greene, who has spent most of his five seasons at the Giants as a midfielder, averaged 21.3 possessions per game playing as a high half-forward, kicked 44 goals, was ranked equal second in the League for goal assists, and third for inside 50s during the regular season. 

The 23-year-old finished a thrilling count just three votes ahead of wingman Tom Scully, with fellow onballer Stephen Coniglio third, gun youngster Josh Kelly fourth and last year's club champion, Heath Shaw, rounding out the top five.

It's been a remarkable career turnaround for the immensely talented Greene, who was handed a club-imposed five-game suspension and $5000 fine after an off-field incident in May 2014. 

"I honestly can't believe I've won this medal," he said.

"It's such a privilege to be named amongst the best players that this club has got is such an honour."

GWS coach Leon Cameron said Greene's ability to adapt and thrive in his new position was a credit to his talent and hard work.

"Toby (Greene) has had an outstanding season and this honour is very well deserved," Cameron said.

"We challenged Toby with a new role early in the season and he exceeded all expectations and took his game to a new level.

"I'm proud to watch the growth of Toby as both a footballer and a person and this is an outstanding achievement at such a young age."

The Kevin Sheedy Medal is voted on by coach Leon Cameron, and assistant coaches Amon Buchanan, Luke Power, with Nick Walsh and Nick Maxwell combining their votes. Up to four votes can be awarded to a player by each coach every round, with each player able to receive a maximum of 16 votes per round. 

The Kevin Sheedy Medal top 10
1. Toby Greene 151
2. Tom Scully 148 
3. Stephen Coniglio 146
4. Josh Kelly 144
5. Heath Shaw 141
6. Dylan Shiel 137 
7. Zac Williams 129 
=8. Shane Mumford 123
=8. Callan Ward 123
10. Steve Johnson 117  

Other award winners
Rising Star Award: Jacob Hopper
Giants Academy Player of the Year: Harry Perryman
Giants Standards Defensive Award: Shane Mumford
Western Sydney University NEAFL Development Award: Jeremy Finlayson
Members and Fans Most Valuable Player: Stephen Coniglio
Virgin Australia Mark of the Year: Rory Lobb (Round 11 v Geelong)
Toyo Tires Goal of the Year: Steve Johnson (Round 11 v Geelong)
Leading Goal Kicker: Jeremy Cameron (53 goals)
Coaches Award: Josh Kelly