The AFL is pleased to announce Caleb Serong from the Fremantle Football Club has been named as the winner of the 2021 rebel Goal of the Year Award.

Serong kicked the rebel Goal of the Year in Round 22 of the 2021 Toyota AFL Premiership Season and was presented the Phil Manassa Medal and his prize of $10,000 at Optus Stadium tonight at the 2021 Charles Brownlow Medal Count broadcast on the Seven Network.

00:58 Mins
Published on

Unbelievable GOTY contender comes from bizarre play

Caleb Serong falls down, gets back up and kicks a checkside banana after the ball flirts with the line multiple times

Published on

After each of the 2021 Toyota AFL Premiership Season's 23 rounds, footy fans voted for their favourite weekly rebel Goal of the Year from a selection of three marks nominated by the AFL Game Analysis Committee.

The following marks were voted as the best mark from each round of the 2021 Toyota AFL Premiership Season:

Round One: Jack Lonie (St Kilda)
Round Two: Kysaiah Pickett (Melbourne)
Round Three: Jordan Clark (Geelong Cats)
Round Four: Jack Magden (Collingwood)
Round Five: Lachlan Murphy (Adelaide Crows)
Round Six: Mitch Duncan (Geelong Cats)
Round Seven: Hunter Clark (St Kilda)
Round Eight: Eddie Betts (Carlton)
Round Nine: Cody Weightman (Western Bulldogs)
Round 10: Tom Papley (Sydney Swans)
Round 11: Taylor Walker (Adelaide Crows)
Round 12: Shai Bolton (Richmond)
Round 13: Riley Thilthorpe (Adelaide Crows)
Round 14: Toby Greene (GWS GIANTS)
Round 15: Harrison Jones (Essendon)
Round 16: Sam Walsh (Carlton)
Round 17: Joel Amartey (Sydney Swans)
Round 18: Sam Walsh (Carlton)
Round 19: Lachlan Murphy (Adelaide Crows)
Round 20: Matt Taberner (Fremantle)
Round 21: Will Powell (Gold Coast SUNS)
Round 22: Caleb Serong (Fremantle)
Round 23: Jacob Hopper (GWS GIANTS)

In addition to the 23 weekly rebel Goal of the Year winners, the AFL Game Analysis Committee could select up to five additional goals from the season to be considered by the AFL All Australian selection committee in determining the season's top three.

The additional goals were:

Michael Gibbons (Carlton) - Round One
Jack Riewoldt (Richmond) – Round Six
Andrew Brayshaw (Fremantle) – Round 12
Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs) – Round 15
Tom Papley (Sydney Swans) - Round 18

The AFL All Australian committee voted, and their results determined the top three goals of the 2021 Toyota AFL Premiership Season out of the 28 in contention. These marks were selected based on a 5/4/3/2/1 vote given by each member of the selection committee.

The 10 person AFL All Australian committee consists of: Gillon McLachlan (non-voting Chairman), Andrew Dillon, Chris Johnson, Glen Jakovich, Warren Tredrea, Cameron Ling, Jude Bolton, Matthew Richardson, Nick Riewoldt and Kevin Bartlett.

Each of the AFL All Australian committee members had a single vote for the overall 2021 rebel Goal of the Year winner, with the most popular fan choice becoming the eleventh vote.

All members of the public that voted and picked a weekly winner in the 2021 rebel Goal of the Year went into the draw to win $5,000, thanks to rebel.