Check out this season's nominees at the NAB AFL Rising Star hub
Rising Star winners: 1993-present
21 years of Rising Stars in pictures

THE DEPTH of talent recognised by the NAB AFL Rising Star Award was on display during captains' day, held before the 2015 premiership season.

Of the 18 club captains, 16 had been named as NAB AFL Rising Star nominees in the early stage of their careers.

Two of the captains, Joel Selwood and Nick Riewoldt, were overall winners of the award.

How the NAB AFL Rising Star works

Instituted in 1993, the NAB AFL Rising Star Award recognises the best young talent in the AFL.

One nominee is chosen each week during the home-and-away season.

At the end of the season a panel of experts votes for the winner, who receives the Ron Evans Medal, named in memory of former AFL Commission Chairman Ron Evans. 

Who is eligible?

To be eligible for the NAB AFL Rising Star, nominated players must be under the age of 21 at 1 January 2015 and have played no more than 10 AFL games.

In 2015 there were 210 eligible players, representing 26 per cent of players on AFL lists.

NAB AFL Rising Star nominees by the numbers*

11 Brownlow Medals
7 Coleman Medals
116 have played in a premiership team
43 have captained their club
96 club best and fairests
5 have coached AFL teams

*As of April, 2015