PATRICK Dangerfield is one of three new faces included in Geelong's six-man leadership group announced at the Cats' season launch on Tuesday night.

Mitch Duncan and last year's best and fairest winner Mark Blicavs has also joined Joel Selwood, Harry Taylor and Tom Hawkins in the group for the upcoming season.

Selwood will be captain for the fifth successive season while the 2015 Jim Stynes medallist Taylor remains vice-captain.  

Veterans Corey Enright and Andrew Mackie have stepped away from the group to make room for the new members.

Dangerfield had been a member of Adelaide's leadership group since 2012, while Duncan was part of the Cats' leadership group in 2014.

The inclusion of Blicavs continues the 24-year-old's remarkable story as he only joined the club as a category B rookie in 2012.

Selwood said the three inclusions represented the future of the football club.

"Mark [Blicavs] is a leader who shows what he does out on the field, trains well, he’s always out there, has a great voice and great relationships," Selwood said.

He said being a leader would help Duncan take his footy to the next level while Dangerfield had impressed his teammates in his short time at the club.

With Selwood absent during the NAB Challenge, Taylor will lead the team.

Meanwhile Geelong has decided to name the new stand being built in 2016 the Charles Brownlow stand.

Cats' president Colin Carter told members at the club's season launch the name of the former football administrator and Geelong player was iconic.

The stage-four redevelopment process began as soon as last season finished and completion is expected in May 2017.

Once completed, the capacity at Simonds Stadium will increase to 36,000 and feature a new social club, improved media facilities and update the football department.

It will also include a community centre to rehabilitate people returning to work following a serious injury.

"Charles Brownlow is arguably the best known name in football history," Carter said.

The game's highest individual honour, the Brownlow Medal, carries the legendary name and the old stand demolished in 2015 was formerly called the Brownlow Stand.

"[Brownlow's] name is not only the most famous name in the AFL's history but he is also a link to our club's own early history as the second oldest professional football club in the world that is still in existence," Carter said.

Brownlow was one of eight former Geelong players inducted into the Cats' Hall of Fame at the season launch that included Percy Douglass, William Hall, Dave Hickinbotham, Hughie McLean, Phil McShane, Tom Wills and Jimmy Wilson Jnr.

The eight players played for Geelong from 1877 to 1896.