NICK Smith this weekend plays the 200th game of what has been a largely unheralded career for the Swans, particularly by the umpires.

The reliable small defender has been an integral member of Sydney's backline for nearly a decade, including playing in its 2012 premiership.

But despite his ability to shut down some of the competition's best small forwards, some recognition has eluded him. 

BROWNLOW PREDICTOR: Who are the top contenders?

Smith has yet to be awarded a vote in the Brownlow Medal after 199 games, meaning he tops the competition as the player with the most games without a vote.

And if Smith plays out the rest of the year he will also overtake Geelong's Tom Lonergan (209 games) as the player who has played the most games in VFL/AFL history without a Brownlow vote.

Second on the list of current players without a Brownlow vote is premiership Magpie Tyson Goldsack, who has played 161 games without attracting the attention of the umpires. This also places him in the top five of the all-time list.    

St Kilda's Nathan Brown, Hawthorn defender Ben Stratton and Western Bulldogs big man Jordan Roughead round out the top five of listed players who are yet to win a Brownlow vote.

Smith, who debuted in 2008 and played two games this season, has been a mainstay of the Swans' defence and played at least 21 games in his past seven seasons.

He has played every game this year and will face Fremantle at the SCG on Saturday night in his milestone match.

Top 10 current players without a Brownlow Medal vote

199 games – Nick Smith (Sydney)
161 – Tyson Goldsack (Collingwood)
160 – Nathan Brown (St Kilda)
154 – Ben Stratton (Hawthorn)
128 – Jordan Roughead (Western Bulldogs)
124 – Neville Jetta (Melbourne)
123 – Luke Brown (Adelaide)
120 – Lee Spurr (Fremantle)
114 – Ryan Schoenmakers (Hawthorn)
112 – Dylan Grimes (Richmond) 

Top-5 all-time players without a single Brownlow Medal vote

209 games – Tom Lonergan (Geelong), 2005-17
199 – Nick Smith (Sydney), 2008-
167 – Ross Henshaw (North Melbourne), 1971-83
166 – Zac Dawson (Hawthorn/St Kilda/Fremantle), 2005-17
161 – Tyson Goldsack (Collingwood), 2007- 

Statistics provided by AFL statistician Cameron Sinclair