COLLINGWOOD captain Scott Pendlebury has joined elite company, winning his fourth Copeland Trophy at Crown Palladium on Friday night.

Pendlebury, 27, who joined the late great Bob Rose with four overall best and fairest awards, won his third successive club-voted gong in front of 1500 guests.

Just two other Magpies – Len Thompson (five) and Nathan Buckley (six) – have taken home the honour on more occasions.

Pendlebury a Magpie for life

Upon receiving the prestigious award, Pendlebury delivered a pointed message to his teammates and the whole club.

"To the younger guys and to the senior guys as well, I'm sick of hearing age as an excuse for our group," Pendlebury said.

"We're a talented young group, yes, but in 2010 we won a flag.

"Let's come back in November, when we start pre-season, rip in, let's get better, let's turn potential into finals and finals into a flag – because we've got that in us."

The Magpies skipper polled 169 votes to street the competition, with fellow star midfielder Dane Swan (120) a distant runner-up.

Young midfielders Jack Crisp (113) and Taylor Adams (103) held down third and fourth-place finishes respectively, while co vice-captain Steele Sidebottom (102) rounded out the top five.

Taking flight not on Scharenberg's agenda

Playing hurt for a fair portion of the 2015 season, it was a gutsy effort by Pendlebury, polling votes in 19 of a possible 22 games.

Pendlebury underwent a shoulder reconstruction during the pre-season and an ankle injury suffered early in the season appeared to restrict him the first half of the year.

It was also announced after the season concluded that he and Swan were to be booked in for post-season hip surgery, although the club is confident the pair will be fit for the start of pre-season training.

Despite his obvious ailments, Pendlebury still put together a stellar 2015 campaign.

The second year skipper may have narrowly missed his sixth-consecutive All Australian selection, but still averaged a tick under 29 disposals per game. He also booted 15 goals for the season and averaged five tackles per game.

Equally, the emergence of young midfielders Adams and Crisp, both 22-years-of-age, would have buoyed Magpies fans.

In a nod to the oft-criticised reconstruction of the club's list, five of the top ten place getters – Crisp, Adams, Tom Langdon and Marley Williams - were aged 25 years or younger.

Add the likely inclusions of Adam Treloar and James Aish – who have both requested trades to the club this post-season – and the future looks particularly bright at the Holden Centre.

In a season where Nathan Buckley gave five debutants their opportunity, Jordan De Goey took home the Harry Collier Trophy as the best first year player.

Jamie Elliott dethroned Travis Cloke as the club's leading goal-kicker (35 goals), the first time in five seasons the key forward has not won the Gordon Coventry Award.

2015 E.W. Copeland Trophy Top Ten

1. Scott Pendlebury - 169
2. Dane Swan - 120
3. Jack Crisp - 113
4. Taylor Adams - 103
5. Steele Sidebottom - 102
6. Tom Langdon - 93
7. Marley Williams - 93
8. Nathan Brown - 70
9. Travis Cloke - 69
10. Travis Varcoe - 65

Other Awards
Magpie Army Player of the Year: Dane Swan

Darren Millane Perpetual Memorial Trophy (Best Clubman): Nathan Brown

Harry Collier Trophy (Best First Year Player): Jordan De Goey

Gavin Brown Award (Leading Desire Indicators): Jack Crisp

Gordon Coventry Award (Leading Goal Kicker): Jamie Elliott (35 goals)

Joseph Wren Award (Best VFL Player): Ben Moloney

Phonse Kyne Award (Services to the Club): Physiotherapist David Francis