LEADING Next Generation Academy prospects Isaac Quaynor and Tarryn Thomas have starred on the opening night of testing at the NAB AFL Draft Combine.

Quaynor, who is tied to Collingwood's NGA due to his African background, was the only player to record a perfect score in the goalkicking assessment at Marvel Stadium on Wednesday night. 

The rebounding defender converted all five of his shots to stand out above five players – Keidean Coleman, Thomas, Tom McKenzie, Mark Keane and Jack Lukosius – who kicked four and missed one.

COMBINE PREVIEW Players to watch

Quaynor was named an All Australian defender after the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships and shapes as a top-20 pick on draft night next month.

Keane and Jordan Morrisey, who are both from Ireland and are testing this week in a bid to win an international rookie position, finished in the top-10 of the goalkicking event.

Thomas' sure skills and composure have stood out at stages this season, and he backed that up at the Combine by being the joint winner of the kicking test alongside Oakleigh midfielder Xavier O'Neill.

Thomas is an indigenous player from Tasmania who can join North Melbourne as an NGA player using the same bidding system applied to father-son and northern Academy players. He is expected to attract a bid in the second half of the first round. 

RECORD BREAKER? No.1 hopeful wants to set new marks

Lukosius' graceful kicking style drew praise from Essendon goalkicking great Matthew Lloyd and the potential top-three pick let nobody down by also being one of the best performers in the kicking test.

The sprint, running and standing vertical jumps, agility and YoYo tests take place on Thursday. 

Tarryn Thomas impressed in the kicking test. Picture: AFL Photos


Kicking test (score out of 30)
Tarryn Thomas 27
Xavier O'Neill 27
Matt McGannon 25
Ely Smith 24
Laithan Vandermeer 23
Jack Lukosius 23
Chayce Jones 22
Noah Answerth 22
Nicholas Baker 22
Xavier O'Halloran 22
James Blanck 22
Riley Grundy 22 

Goalkicking test (score out of 30)
Isaac Quaynor 30
Keidean Coleman 25
Tarryn Thomas 25
Tom McKenzie 25
Mark Keane 25
Jack Lukosius 25
Izak Rankine 24
Jordan Morrisey 24
Angus Hanrahan 24