Papua New Guinea celebrates its win in the 2017 International Cup. Picture: AFL Photos

The Australian Football League has announced plans for international regional championships to be played in 2024.

Three events – the Asia Cup, Pacific Cup and Trans-Atlantic Cup – will be the first AFL-sanctioned international championships since 2017 and will each comprise open male and female divisions. The Pacific Cup will also include under 18 male and female divisions.

The Trans-Atlantic Cup will be conducted in North America in August 2024, with the other two competitions to follow in November. The Pacific Cup will be held in Australia while the Asia Cup will be conducted at a location in that region. Further details about the three events will be announced once confirmed.  

The AFL International Cup was first staged in 2002 and held every three years through to 2017. The 2020 event was cancelled because of the pandemic and last year the AFL announced that the 2023 edition would not be held as the game continued its recovery from two years of disruption. The focus shifted to the best and most appropriate way to get international competition going again in 2024.

AFL Executive General Manager Game Development, Rob Auld, said: “Holding international events where players from all over the world are given the opportunity to represent their country is an important part of the AFL’s commitment to supporting the game across the globe.

“These regional international competitions will bring the Australian rules football community from different regions together for the first time in six years, which is exciting for all players and officials involved.

“Holding the three regional championships in 2024 is an important step forward for Australian football internationally and all involved after all the challenges faced in recent years. The three-event program promises to be a special celebration of the game played in countries from each of the regions.”

Ireland celebrates a win over Canada in the 2017 International Cup. Picture: AFL Photos


Trans-Atlantic Cup
Date: August 2024
Host nation: TBC – in North America
Invited nations: Canada, Colombia, USA and all affiliated AFL Europe Countries.

Asia Cup
Date: November 2024
Host: TBC – in Asia
Invited nations: All affiliated AFL Asia countries (including, but not limited to Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam)

Pacific Cup
Date: November 2024
Host: TBC – in Australia
Invited nations: Fiji, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Tonga, Vanuatu, South Africa