DUSTIN Martin leads a list of 21 players ineligible for this year's Brownlow Medal.

The 2017 champion, who is again expected to poll frequently in this season's count, was suspended for an off-the-ball striking incident against Adam Kennedy in round three.

The charge, initially a two-week ban but downgraded to a one-match suspension at the AFL Tribunal, will mean Martin is no chance of picking up his second 'Charlie' on Monday night.

He was also slapped with a $1500 striking fine for another incident during the same game.

A strong finish to the season has Martin finishing fourth in the AFL's official Brownlow Predictor, polling 24 votes – four votes behind the expected winner Patrick Dangerfield.

BROWNLOW PREDICTOR Who could take Charlie home in 2019?

Two-time Brownlow Medal winner Gary Ablett is also ineligible due to a suspension served this season, along with defensive pair Jeremy McGovern and Harris Andrews.

The 21 ineligible players

Dustin Martin (Richmond)
Gary Ablett (Geelong)
Jeremy McGovern (West Coast)
Harris Andrews (Brisbane)
Will Setterfield (Carlton)
Luke McDonald (North Melbourne)
Taylin Duman (Fremantle)
James Cousins (Hawthorn)
Sam Durdin (North Melbourne)
Lewis Jetta (West Coast)
Rhys Mathieson (Brisbane)
Travis Varcoe (Collingwood)
Ivan Soldo (Richmond)
Willie Rioli (West Coast)
Nathan Vardy (West Coast)
Ben Stratton (Hawthorn)
Dougal Howard (Port Adelaide)
Karl Amon (Port Adelaide)
Jordan Dawson (Sydney)
Anthony Miles (Gold Coast)
Dylan Grimes (Richmond)