ELLIOT Yeo has entered rare air at West Coast after claiming back-to-back John Worsfold medals and joining club greats Dean Kemp, Glen Jakovich and Chris Judd as the Eagles' best and fairest in a premiership campaign.   

Following a stunning transformation from All Australian half-back to elite midfielder this season, Yeo (273 votes) was a clear winner from ex-Brisbane teammate Jack Redden (231) and captain Shannon Hurn (222).

The 25-year-old joins an illustrious group of Eagles – including Jakovich (four), Ben Cousins (four), Darren Glass (three), Guy McKenna (two) and Judd (two) – to snare multiple Worsfold medals.  

But only Jakovich (1993-95), Cousins (2001-03) and now Yeo have won the award in consecutive seasons.   

PARTY TIME How the Eagles celebrated the flag on social media

"To be quite honest, that hasn't sunk in yet and nor has the flag," Yeo said.  

"It's a truly honourable experience to be able to win a second club champ. 

"It's been a pretty good week, to be honest. It was my birthday on Monday, we won a flag on Saturday and I was able to be crowned today as well.

"Very good week."

IN THE DARK Gaff speech leaves Eagles none the wiser

Resurgent Redden capped a brilliant third year in the west after stepping up as a major ball-winner following Brownlow medallists Matt Priddis and Sam Mitchell's retirements.   

Hurn earned his third top-three finish in a career-best season which saw him named to the Virgin Australia AFL All Australian team for the first time.

Hard-working forward Jamie Cripps (218) took out fourth spot – the best result in his six seasons at West Coast.

That quartet played every game, advantageous given five members of the match committee award each player up to three votes (up to 15 per game).   

That system didn't help Andrew Gaff, who was shattered on Grand Final day after being sidelined by an eight-match suspension following his round 20 strike on Fremantle's Andrew Brayshaw in the Western Derby.  

Gaff, who is expected to join North Melbourne as a restricted free agent, still polled 216 votes – leading Yeo by 16 after 16 rounds – and finished fifth despite missing six games.


Jeremy McGovern came in sixth place ahead of Mark Hutchings, Brad Sheppard and Jack Darling, with fan favourite Willie Rioli rounding out the top 10.

It was tough nut Hutchings' first top-10 finish, while electric goalsneak Rioli capped a memorable 28-goal debut season after dropping 16kg to earn a shot in the draft two years ago.   

Highlighting the Eagles' depth and spread of contributors on the way to a remarkable flag, Norm Smith medallist Luke Shuey didn't crack the top 10 for the first time in five years, despite playing 20 games.

Yeo led West Coast for total contested possessions (average 12.4) and tackles (6.7), while ranking second for disposals (24.6) and third in clearances (4.3).

He was unlucky to miss All Australian selection after emerging as a bona fide match-winner under departing midfield coach Mitchell's guidance.

Redden stormed home in the medal count thanks to a stellar September campaign, averaging 28 touches and five tackles in three finals.

The 27-year-old left the awards ceremony early on Friday night battling gastro after a huge week of celebrations.

He shared the Player of the Finals award with Grand Final hero Dom Sheed, while Rioli took home the Emerging Talent Award and Lewis Jetta was named best clubman. 

The Eagles inducted six life members on Friday night. 

Current players Nic Naitanui and Brad Sheppard were honoured alongside 2006 premiership captain Chris Judd, inaugural skipper Ross Glendinning, '94 premiership player David Hynes and former football operations boss Steve Woodhouse.

John Worsfold Medal top 10

1. Elliot Yeo - 273 (25 games)
2. Jack Redden - 231 (25)
3. Shannon Hurn - 222 (25)
4. Jamie Cripps - 218 (25)
5. Andrew Gaff - 216 (19)
6. Jeremy McGovern - 202 (24)
7. Mark Hutchings - 185 (20)
8. Brad Sheppard - 184 (23)
9. Jack Darling - 182 (21)
10. Willie Rioli - 176 (24)