DUSTIN Martin's surge to a record votes tally capped a memorable Brownlow count at Melbourne's Crown Palladium on Monday night. Here's the 2017 Brownlow Medal by the numbers:


By grabbing best-afield honours in the final round and finishing on 36 votes, Dustin Martin broke Patrick Dangerfield's 2016 record by a solitary vote.


Martin's 11 games receiving maximum votes saw him surpass Dangerfield, Nat Fyfe (2015) and Greg Williams' (1994) nine best-on-ground performances in a season.


The next best Tigers behind Martin were skipper and 2012 medallist Trent Cotchin and gun full-back Alex Rance, who both polled eight votes.


Patrick Dangerfield smashed the previous mark for most votes by an ineligible player, previously held by Hawthorn champion Sam Mitchell (2011) and Jobe Watson (later stripped of the 2012 medal), who polled 30 each.

Dangerfield with wife Mardi on the Swisse Red Carpet. Picture: AFL photos


The number of votes fast-starting Rory Sloane had in his pocket after the opening six rounds, before he became the target of taggers. The Adelaide star was equal-leader alongside Martin on 14 votes after 10 rounds and finished the night in sixth place with 20 votes.

Rory Sloane takes microphone duties at Adelaide's Brownlow function on Monday night. Picture: AFL photos


That's how many days Andy Otten waited between votes. The versatile Adelaide tall polled in round 15, 2009 after picking up 27 touches against Freo, and then finally grabbed his next vote, also against the Dockers, for booting four goals in round 10 this year.


Dual Brownlow medallist Gary Ablett now stands alone with the most adjusted Brownlow votes in history. He started the night tied with retired champ Sam Mitchell on 220, but Ablett received 14 votes to Mitchell's seven. Ablett has now polled more votes at Gold Coast (122) than Geelong (112), but that might change if he returns to the Cattery.

Dual winner Gary Ablett and wife Jordan on the Swisse Red Carpet. Picture: AFL Photos


The Demons had the most players poll votes in the 2017 Brownlow Medal count, one more than minor premiers Adelaide (14).


Raging bull Sam Powell-Pepper polled his first and, so far, only career vote in just his second game, Port Adelaide's round two mauling of Fremantle. Powell-Pepper was beaten for the NAB AFL Rising Star by Andrew McGrath, who didn't poll a vote, and runner-up Ryan Burton, who received two votes.


Collingwood skipper Scott Pendlebury polled 15 votes and moved past coach Nathan Buckley (164) into second place on Collingwood's all-time Brownlow leaderboard. He is now only 21 behind 2011 winner Dane Swan (186).


Retiring Geelong defender Tom Lonergan extended his record for the most games in VFL/AFL history without receiving a vote to 209 games. Sydney defender Nick Smith might take that unwanted mantle next season, though, after failing to poll so far in 191 games.


Coleman medallist Lance Franklin equaled his best effort at the Brownlow Medal by polling 22 votes, and finished fourth overall.

Dustin Martin's stellar season

2017 Brownlow Medal top 10

36 - Dustin Martin (Rich)
33 - Patrick Dangerfield (Geel) *
25 - Tom Mitchell (Haw)
23 - Josh Kennedy (Syd)
22 - Lance Franklin (Syd)
21 - Josh Kelly (GWS)
20 - Rory Sloane (Adel)
19 - Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
18 - Ollie Wines (PA)
17 - Dayne Beams (BL)

* ineligible