FOR THE second successive year, the AFL's players have named Fremantle star Nat Fyfe the most valuable in the competition. 

Fyfe, the Brownlow Medal favourite, polled 1455 votes to win the Leigh Matthews Trophy as the AFL Players' Association's MVP ahead of North Melbourne ruckman Todd Goldstein (578) and Adelaide's Patrick Dangerfield (364).

West Coast pair Matt Priddis (269) and Josh Kennedy (191) finished fourth and fifth. 

Fyfe, 23, is only the third player in the award's 33-year history to win in successive years, following five-time winner Gary Ablett (2007-09, 2012-13) and Michael Voss (2002-03). 

• Who's leading your club's count? Check out's Brownlow predictor

"It's such an honour to have been awarded the Leigh Matthews Trophy two years in a row. Having the respect of your peers is one of the highest accolades we can hope to achieve as players – I'm truly humbled," Fyfe said.

AFLPA president and Fyfe's skipper, Matthew Pavlich, praised his teammate's efforts in becoming a back-to-back winner.

"From day one this season, it was clear that Nat’s outstanding form was continuing on from last year and that he was more than willing to work hard to keep growing and improving his game," he said.

"To be voted most valuable player by his peers – one of football's biggest honours – two years in a row, is a true testament to the dedication and skill that he brings to the game."

Western Bulldogs skipper Robert Murphy was named the league's best captain, Sydney Swan Luke Parker was honoured with the Robert Rose Award as the most courageous player, while Parker's teammate Isaac Heeney was named the best first-year player. 

Bulldogs star Jake Stringer was named captain of the best 22 under 22 team - a side of the best players aged under 22 as voted by the public.

Greater Western Sydney had the strongest representation in the all-star line-up with four players - Adam Treloar, Jeremy Cameron, Devon Smith and Dylan Shiel - making the side.


Most Valuable Player - Leigh Matthews Trophy
1. Nat Fyfe (Frem) – 1455
2. Todd Goldstein (NM)– 578
3. Patrick Dangerfield (Adel) – 364
4. Matt Priddis (WC)– 269
5. Josh Kennedy (WC) – 191
6. Dan Hannebery (Syd) – 162
7. Sam Mitchell (Haw) – 116
8. Alex Rance (Rich) – 100
9. Robbie Gray (PA) – 90
10. Eddie Betts (Adel) – 86

Most Courageous - Robert Rose Award
1. Luke Parker (Syd) – 238
2. Callan Ward (GWS) – 123
3. Joel Selwood (Geel) – 83
4. Luke Hodge (Haw) – 78
5. Alex Rance (Rich) – 43

Best First-Year Player
1. Isaac Heeney (Syd) – 190
2. Angus Brayshaw (Melb) – 139
3. Touk Miller (GC) – 113
4. Jake Lever (Adel) – 46
5. Cory Gregson (Geel) – 41

Best Captain
1. Robert Murphy (WB) – 226
2. Luke Hodge (Haw) – 144
3. Taylor Walker (Adel) – 94
4. Shannon Hurn (WC) – 42
5. Nick Riewoldt (StK) – 37

Education & Training Excellence Award: Mike Pyke (Syd)

Grant Hattam Award for Excellence in Sports Journalism: Adrian Brown and Western Bulldogs - Sons of the West documentary

22 under 22 - The best 22 AFL players aged under 22 as voted by fans
B: Rory Laird (Adel), Jack Hombsch (PA), Kade Kolodjashnij (GC)
HB: Adam Saad (GC), Jake Lever (Adel), Elliot Yeo (WC)
C: Lachie Neale (Frem), Patrick Cripps (Carl), Adam Treloar (GWS)
HF: Jake Stringer (c) (WB), Jesse Hogan (Melb), Luke Parker (vc) (Syd)
F: Chad Wingard (PA), Jeremy Cameron (GWS), Tom Lynch (GC)
Foll: Brodie Grundy (Coll), Marcus Bontempelli (WB), Ollie Wines (PA)
Int: Tom Langdon (Coll), Dylan Shiel (GWS), Brandon Ellis (Rich), Devon Smith (GWS)