Main content

Players' number tribute to indigenous breakthrough

Ross' slip, Gray's area, missing Tom The Footy Feed team with all the latest news
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - MAY 20: Lance Franklin of the Swans looks on during the 2017 AFL round 09 match between the St Kilda Saints and the Sydney Swans at Etihad Stadium on May 20, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Media)
Lance Franklin will wear No.67 in Indigenous Round rather than his famous No.23

SYDNEY superstar Lance Franklin will be one of 10 players to change numbers for Sir Doug Nicholls Indigenous Round.

Franklin will abandon his usual No.23 guernsey for No.67 to commemorate the year of the referendum that ensured indigenous Australians would be counted in the census and allowed the federal government to make laws for them.

No.67 also will be worn by Brisbane Lion Cedric Cox, Collingwood's Daniel Wells, Gold Coast co-captain Steven May, Giant Zac Williams, Hawthorn's Shaun Burgoyne and Richmond's Shane Edwards, who will wear the number in the centrepiece of Indigenous Round, the Dreamtime at the 'G match.

Other players, both indigenous and non-indigenous, will wear No.50 to honour the 50th anniversary of the referendum.

Players who have been allowed to change numbers for Indigenous Round

Brisbane Lions
Dayne Beams – 50
Cedric Cox – 67

Daniel Wells – 67 

Gold Coast
Tom Lynch – 50
Steven May – 67

Zac Williams – 67

Shaun Burgoyne – 67 

Shane Edwards – 67 

Sydney Swans
Dane Rampe – 50
Lance Franklin – 67 

Proud to wear these boots for Indigenous round this week. Amazing artwork by @lpenrith #marngrook @adidasau 👣

A post shared by Buddy Franklin (@buddy_franklin23) on