Main content

If Dusty doubles up, who'll present the Brownlow?

Cats get wacky, Pendles' care factor Footy Feed with Matt Thompson, Mitch Cleary and Jen Phelan

IF RICHMOND superstar Dustin Martin takes home a second straight Brownlow Medal, it won't be presented to him by 2016 winner Patrick Dangerfield.

The AFL has organised for someone other than Dangerfield to drape 'Charlie' around the Tiger's neck if he goes back-to-back but won't reveal who that person is, since the scenario may not eventuate. 

BROWNLOW PREDICTOR Who'll take 'Charlie' home this year?

According to the Brownlow predictor, Martin will poll 25 votes to pip Melbourne ruckman Max Gawn (24), while Carlton onballer Patrick Cripps and Collingwood big man Brodie Grundy will share third place on 23.

When St Kilda champion Robert Harvey won the Brownlow in 1997 and 1998, North Melbourne great Keith Greig was on hand to present 'Charlie' the second time round, as the most recent repeat winner. 

Keith Greig and Robert Harvey at the 1998 Brownlow Medal count. Picture: AFL Photos

Tigers skipper Trent Cotchin looms as an obvious candidate to take the role, since his 2012 Brownlow was won in 2016, after Essendon midfielder Jobe Watson handed his back

That happened ahead of a Commission meeting, where Watson was to present on why he should keep his Brownlow after winning it in a year during when he was one of 34 players found guilty of taking a banned substance.  

Cotchin shared the award with Sam Mitchell, who won it in his time at Hawthorn. Neither has presented a Brownlow and the current West Coast assistant coach looms as another candidate.

As the most recent back-to-back winner, Harvey could also have the honour, while Geelong champion Gary Ablett was the last person to win the Brownlow twice (2009 and 2013).

Potential back-to-back Brownlow presenters

Trent Cotchin – 2012 winner who has never presented
Sam Mitchell – 2012 winner who has never presented
Robert Harvey – most recent back-to-back Brownlow winner
Gary Ablett – most recent dual Brownlow winner