Main content

Big Dee ruled out of AFLX, electrifying Saint gets call-up

MUST WATCH: Sledges aplenty from the AFLX skippers The banter and humour is flowing with Dangerfield, Fyfe, Betts and Riewoldt in the AFLX draft

MELBOURNE defender Steven May is out of the AFLX tournament, two days after being selected in Eddie Betts' all-indigenous Deadly team.

The former Gold Coast co-captain, the Demons' marquee recruit in last year's NAB AFL Trade Period, has suffered a minor hamstring injury.

St Kilda star Jade Gresham is May's replacement in Betts' 14-strong squad for the event at Marvel Stadium on Friday, February 22.

AFLX RULES Get ready for 20-point supergoals

Hamstring issues sidelined May in 2013, 2014 and 2017 (twice), on top of ankle and groin setbacks in his AFL career to date.

Melbourne will be without fellow key backman Jake Lever (knee) for much of the season, so will hope May is fit and firing for its season-opener against Port Adelaide at the MCG on March 23.

WHO HAS THE BEST AFLX TEAM? Callum Twomey makes the call

Oscar McDonald and Sam Frost are among the Dees' other tall defensive options if May's hamstring problem lingers.

However, Melbourne expects May to be ready for the club’s second JLT Community Series match against Brisbane at Casey Fields on March 9.

He is likely to be restricted at training for the next three to four weeks.

Team Deadly: Eddie Betts (captain), Shaun Burgoyne (vice-captain), Bradley Hill, Jarrod Harbrow, Tim Kelly, Chad Wingard, Travis Varcoe, Lewis Jetta, Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti, Joel Hamling, Willie Rioli, Sam Powell-Pepper, Cameron Ellis-Yolmen and Jade Gresham.

The AFLX tournament kicks off on Friday February 22 at Marvel Stadium . 

Information and ticket sales via


Adelaide Eddie Betts Rory Sloane Rory Laird Cameron Ellis-Yolmen
Brisbane Luke Hodge Dayne Zorko Daniel Rich  
Carlton Patrick Cripps Zac Fisher    
Collingwood Scott Pendlebury Steele Sidebottom Travis Varcoe Jaidyn Stephenson
Essendon Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti Andrew McGrath Dylan Shiel Michael Hurley
Fremantle Nat Fyfe Bradley Hill Joel Hamling  
Geelong Patrick Dangerfield Tom Hawkins Tim Kelly Mark Blicavs
Gold Coast Jarrod Harbrow      
Greater Western Sydney Lachie Whitfield Jeremy Cameron Phil Davis Stephen Coniglio
Hawthorn Shaun Burgoyne Chad Wingard Isaac Smith Luke Breust
Melbourne Steven May Tom McDonald    
North Melbourne Shaun Higgins Robbie Tarrant    
Port Adelaide Robbie Gray Travis Boak Sam Powell-Pepper  
Richmond Jack Riewoldt Alex Rance Jack Higgins  
St Kilda Jack Billings Tim Membrey Jack Steele  
Sydney Isaac Heeney Luke Parker Aliir Aliir Josh Kennedy
West Coast Andrew Gaff Lewis Jetta Willie Rioli  
Western Bulldogs Marcus Bontempelli Easton Wood Lachie Hunter