GOOD luck to the selectors choosing the teams for the State of Origin revamp. It's not going to be an easy task. 

The AFL looks set to bring back the State of Origin concept for an All-Star match to raise money for the Australian bushfire appeal, with a Victoria v the rest contest being mooted to be played at Marvel Stadium on February 28.

But picking the teams and fitting in all of the competition's biggest names will take some work. 

Here at we've put our heads together to select 24-player squads for both sides. We set a cap of three players per club being eligible to play in the game.


B: Tom Stewart (Geelong), Daniel Talia (Adelaide), Adam Saad (Essendon)
HB: James Sicily (Hawthorn), Michael Hurley (Essendon), Sam Docherty (Carlton)
C: Jack Macrae (WB), Dustin Martin (Richmond), Zach Merrett (Essendon)
HF: Shaun Higgins (North Melbourne), Tom Lynch (Richmond), Robbie Gray (Port Adelaide)
F: Toby Greene (GWS), Jeremy Cameron (GWS), Jordan De Goey (Collingwood)
R: Max Gawn (Melbourne), Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong), Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
Int: Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood), Clayton Oliver (Melbourne), Ben Cunnington (North Melbourne), Sam Walsh (Carlton), Gary Ablett (Geelong), Rowan Marshall (St Kilda)

This is a midfield that just won't get beaten. Dangerfield, Bontempelli and Martin as the starting on-ballers at the feet of Gawn make for the most brilliant on-ball division, plus the reinforcements are Pendlebury, Oliver, Cunnington and Ablett on the bench. Throw in Merrett and Macrae, plus young gun Walsh on the interchange, and the outside run is extraordinary. So good, in fact, that the likes of Lachie Whitfield and Josh Kelly didn't make the cut. The Vics have a very sturdy defence held down by Talia and Hurley with Stewart and Sicily strong in the air, while De Goey, Cameron and Greene will be near-on unstoppable close to goal. - Callum Twomey

Scott Pendlebury in action for Victoria during the 2008 Hall of Fame Tribute match. Picture: AFL Photos

All Stars (NSW, Queensland, Tasmania, NT, South Australia and Western Australia)

B: Rory Laird (Adelaide), Steven May (Melbourne), Dane Rampe (Sydney)
HB: Brodie Smith (Adelaide), Harris Andrews (Brisbane), Shannon Hurn (West Coast)
C: Bradley Hill (St Kilda), Patrick Cripps (Carlton), Tim Kelly (West Coast)
HF: Charlie Cameron (Brisbane), Jack Riewoldt (Richmond), Isaac Heeney (Sydney)
F: Michael Walters (Fremantle), Ben Brown (North Melbourne), Aaron Naughton (Western Bulldogs)
R: Brodie Grundy (Collingwood), Nat Fyfe (Fremantle), Lachie Neale (Brisbane)
Int: Tom Mitchell (Hawthorn), Stephen Coniglio (GWS), Elliot Yeo (West Coast), Alex Sexton (Gold Coast), Connor Rozee (Port Adelaide), Jarrod Witts (Gold Coast)

There's always going to be tough choices and unlucky players when you're picking an All Stars team. Having a maximum of three players per club also presents its challenges. Greater Western Sydney defender Phil Davis fits in that category given the strength of the Giants, while Geelong key forward Tom Hawkins misses out despite booting 56 goals last season. Perennial All-Australian defender Jeremy McGovern is on the comeback from heel surgery, so selectors erred on the side of caution given the quality of Eagles available, while Lance Franklin is out after having knee surgery. Brownlow Medallist Tom Mitchell – eligible for selection having played his junior representative football for WA – has been included in his return from a broken leg. - Lee Gaskin