GOLD Coast's bright future will be on display with prized draft picks Matt Rowell and Noah Anderson named to take on Geelong in their Marsh Community Series clash at Metricon Stadium on Saturday night.

Rowell and Anderson were the top two overall selections in last year's NAB AFL Draft, while talented winger Jeremy Sharp has also been included. 

FULL TEAMS Check out all the Marsh Series squads

The Suns traded a future first-round pick to the Cats in order to move up and claim Sharp with the 27th overall selection last year.

Noah Anderson and Matt Rowell could make a big impact on the Suns in their first season. Picture: AFL Photos

Richmond premiership player Brandon Ellis and big-bodied midfielder Hugh Greenwood have also been named to make their Suns debuts.

Greenwood will square off against a familiar face on the opposition, with his former Adelaide teammate Josh Jenkins lining up for Geelong for the first time.

The Cats have named a strong side including Patrick Dangerfield, Gary Ablett, Tom Stewart and Tom Hawkins.

Mature-age small forward Brad Close – picked up from Glenelg in last year's rookie draft – gets his chance to push his claims for a round one debut

Melbourne midfielder Aaron vandenBerg makes a long-awaited return in his first game in almost 12 months in Saturday's clash with Adelaide at Casey Fields.

vandenBerg missed all of last season with foot and ankle injuries and is a welcome addition to the Demons.

Aaron vandenBerg will play his first game in almost 12 months on Saturday. Picture: AFL Photos

Talented ruck prospect Luke Jackson – the third overall pick in last year's draft – will get the chance to push his claims for an early-season debut with star big man Max Gawn having an interrupted pre-season and Braydon Preuss to miss the start of the season.

MARSH EYE-CATCHERS Who to watch, who's missing

Exciting small forward Kozzy Pickett will also debut for the Demons.

02:49 Mins
Published on

Marsh Series Fantasy watchlist

Calvin names fives players he's keeping an eye on over the Marsh Community Series

Published on

There are plenty of new faces in Adelaide's side, including Shane McAdam, Jordon Butts, Port Adelaide recruit Billy Frampton and rookie-listed recruits Ben Crocker and Ben Keays.

Forward Taylor Walker and defender Brodie Smith have both been left out of the side ahead of next Friday night's State of Origin Bushfire Relief match, but captain Rory Sloane and defender Rory Laird will play.

02:09 Mins
Published on

Bigger than the 'Big V': Heartfelt Crow on bushfire relief match

Adelaide captain Rory Sloane provides a moving outlook on the devastation of the Australian bushfires and ongoing support

Published on

Former Hawthorn defender Grant Birchall will make his Brisbane debut against a strong Port Adelaide side at the Moreton Bay Sports Complex on Sunday.

Callum Ah Chee and former Crows midfielder Cam Ellis-Yolmen have also been included for the Lions.

Highly rated youngster Mitch Georgiades and rookie-listed small forward Tobin Cox will be part of Port Adelaide's side in a guide towards their round one plans.

Cox has the chance to push his case for the small forward left vacant by Sam Gray's departure to Sydney. 

Jack Watts has been named as an emergency.

Defender Jack Watts – who suffered a season-ending broken leg in round two last year – has been named in the extended 30-player squad.

Key defender Alex Keath will play his first game for the Western Bulldogs in Friday night's encounter with North Melbourne at Marvel Stadium.

With lead ruckman Tim English sidelined, rookie big man Jordon Sweet gets his chance to impress in the ruck.

Jordon Sweet (left) will carry the Western Bulldogs' ruck division in Tim English's absence. Picture: AFL Photos

Newly installed captain Marcus Bontempelli will lead the side for the first time as part of a powerful midfield including Josh Dunkley, Lachie Hunter and Jack Macrae.

North Melbourne welcome back key defender Majak Daw after he missed all of last season with hip, pelvic and hamstring injuries.

Aiden Bonar will play his first game for his new club since crossing from Greater Western Sydney during the Telstra AFL Trade Period.

Friday, February 21

Western Bulldogs v North Melbourne, Marvel Stadium, 7.10pm AEDT


B: A.Keath 42 Z.Cordy 12 B.Williams 34
HB: H.Crozier 9 J.Johannisen 39 C.Daniel 35
C: R.Smith 37 M.Bontempelli - C 4 L.Hunter 7
HF: P.Lipinski 27 J.Schache 13 A.Naughton 33
F: T.Dickson 29 S.Lloyd 22 B.Dale 31
Foll: J.Sweet 41 J.Dunkley 5 J.Macrae 11
I/C: M.Wallis 3 B.Smith 6 T.McLean 16 E.Richards 20 B.Cavarra 25 C.Porter 28 W.Hayes 32 R.Gardner 43
Emerg: Le.Young 2 R.West 14 C.Weightman 19 L.Butler 18


B: L.McDonald 11 M.Daw 1 J.Macmillan 34
HB: J.Pittard 17 J.Walker 19 S.Atley 18
C: B.Scott 8 B.Cunnington 10 T.Dumont 14
HF: T.Thomas 26 C.Zurhaar 44 J.Mahony 35
F: K.Turner 28 N.Larkey 20 T.Garner 6
Foll: T.Goldstein 22 J.Simpkin 12 J.Anderson 3
I/C: M.Williams - C 2 P.Ahern 15 A.Bonar 16 D.Tyson 21 S.Durdin 24 C.Taylor 31 T.Xerri 38 T.Murphy 40
Emerg: B.McKay 23 C.Comben 30 M.Wood 32 J.Crocker 36

Saturday, February 22

Melbourne v Adelaide, Casey Fields, 4.40pm AEDT


B: N.Jetta 39 O.McDonald 28 C.Salem 3
HB: N.Jones 2 J.Lever 8 M.Hibberd 14
C: E.Langdon 15 J.Viney - C 7 A.Tomlinson 20
HF: J.Melksham 18 T.McDonald 25 C.Petracca 5
F: B.Fritsch 31 M.Brown 38 A.vandenBerg 22
Foll: S.Weideman 26 J.Harmes 4 C.Oliver 13
I/C: L.Jackson 6 C.Spargo 9 A.Neal-Bullen 30 T.Sparrow 32 K.Pickett 36 J.Lockhart 41 J.Wagner 42 J.Smith 44
Emerg: T.Bedford 12 J.Jordon 23 J.Hunt 29 M.Hore 34


B: L.Brown 16 D.Talia 12 R.Laird 29
HB: W.Milera 30 J.Butts 41 B.Gibbs 6
C: M.Poholke 10 M.Crouch 5 B.Keays 28
HF: S.McAdam 23 B.Davis 40 T.Lynch 27
F: T.Stengle 18 E.Himmelberg 34 L.Murphy 4
Foll: R.O'Brien 43 B.Crouch 2 C.Jones 1
I/C: J.Kelly 8 R.Sloane - C 9 D.Mackay 14 B.Crocker 20 R.Atkins 21 B.Frampton 22 P.Wilson 31 N.McHenry 25
Emerg: W.Hamill 17 F.McAsey 35 L.Sholl 38 K.Hartigan 15

Gold Coast v Geelong, Metricon Stadium, 7.40pm AEDT


B: C.Budarick 35 C.Graham 46 J.Lukosius 13
HB: J.Bowes 3 S.Collins 25 J.Joyce 38
C: B.Ellis 4 H.Greenwood 21 N.Anderson 15
HF: A.Sexton 6 S.Day 12 B.Ainsworth 9
F: D.Swallow - C 24 B.King 34 D.MacPherson 44
Foll: Z.Smith 32 T.Miller 11 L.Weller 14
I/C: W.Brodie 7 C.Burgess 29 S.Lemmens 23 J.McLennan 43 J.Murdoch 31 M.Rowell 18 J.Sharp 37 P.Wright 30
Emerg: J.Dawson 45 C.Ellis 17 G.Horlin-Smith 33 J.Schoenfeld 36


B: J.Bews 24 M.Blicavs 46 Z.Guthrie 39
HB: T.Stewart 44 H.Taylor 7 Z.Tuohy 2
C: J.Parsons 34 P.Dangerfield - C 35 J.Clark 6
HF: G.Miers 32 T.Hawkins 26 G.Rohan 23
F: B.Close 45 E.Ratugolea 17 J.Jenkins 11
Foll: D.Fort 28 C.Guthrie 29 T.Atkins 30
I/C: C.Constable 18 L.Henderson 25 R.Stanley 1 Q.Narkle 19 C.Stephens 12 J.Kennerley 21 B.Jarvis 10 G.Ablett 4
Emerg: J.Tarca 33 C.Taheny 41 B.Schlensog 36 O.Brownless 20

Sunday, February 23

Brisbane v Port Adelaide, Moreton Bay Central Sports Complex, 4.10pm AEDT


B: D.Gardiner 27 H.Andrews 31 M.Adams 24
HB: G.Birchall 14 C.Ah Chee 4 D.Rich 10
C: J.Berry 7 H.McCluggage 6 Z.Bailey 33
HF: C.Cameron 23 E.Hipwood 30 D.Zorko - C 15
F: C.Ballenden 38 D.McStay 25 C.Rayner 16
Foll: S.Martin 12 L.Neale 9 J.Lyons 17
I/C: M.Robinson 5 E.Smith 8 L.McCarthy 11 C.McFadyen 26 C.Ellis-Yolmen 28 A.Witherden 29 B.Starcevich 37 O.McInerney 46

Emerg: R.Lester 35 R.Mathieson 36 S.Skinner 21 J.Payne 40


B: R.Burton 3 T.Jonas 1 R.Bonner 26
HB: H.Hartlett 8 T.McKenzie 12 D.Byrne-Jones 33
C: X.Duursma 21 T.Rockliff 11 K.Amon 15
HF: S.Powell-Pepper 2 B.Ebert 7 T.Cox 47
F: Z.Butters 18 C.Dixon 22 C.Rozee 20
Foll: P.Ladhams 38 D.Houston 5 T.Boak 10
I/C: T.Marshall 4 S.Motlop 6 T.Clurey 17 M.Georgiades 19 K.Farrell 24 S.Mayes 32 J.Westhoff 39 J.Lienert 40

Emerg: J.Watts 23 W.Drew 28 J.Atley 30 C.Sutcliffe 50