Joe Daniher, Jack Viney, Jeremy Cameron and Brad Crouch headline this year's free agents. Picture: AFL Photos

A GROUP of seven players will qualify as restricted free agents in 2020, including a surprise Giants defender.

The full list of free agents was circulated to clubs on the day round one started, and can reveal there will also be a total of 89 unrestricted free agents across the competition.

REVEALED The AFL's plan to restart footy

Clubs remain unclear how the doubt surrounding this year's season due to the coronavirus shutdown will impact the status of free agents, or the possible changes to the trade and free agency windows.


The Giants have three restricted free agents under existing rules, including star forward Jeremy Cameron, who had started negotiations before the COVID-19 shutdown, and Zac Williams, who had put off talks until mid-season.

However the list also threw up a surprise for rival clubs, with key defender Aidan Corr also qualifying as a restricted free agent.

FIRST CLASS Your club's best first-round draftees this century

This allows the Giants the first call to match an offer for the important defender, and means the 25-year-old is in the top 25 per cent paid players at the club.

It highlights the savvy manoeuvring of payments spread over long-term deals for the club's star players, and also sees him join the likes of Cameron, Stephen Coniglio, forward Toby Greene and midfield pair Lachie Whitfield and Josh Kelly as the Giants' top echelon of earners in 2020.


Adelaide midfielder Brad Crouch, who considered a move to Gold Coast last year, and Essendon spearhead Joe Daniher, who requested a trade to Sydney last off-season, will also qualify as restricted free agents. It would allow the Bombers, if Daniher again wants to take up an offer from the Swans, to match the offer and be forced to strike a trade deal.

Melbourne vice-captain Jack Viney and veteran Port Adelaide midfielder Brad Ebert are the other restricted free agents.

ALL CLUBS WILL SURVIVE AFL chief dismisses merger talk

Players who have been previously delisted, and those who have previously qualified as a free agent at another club, automatically become free agents under rules that were implemented at the end of last year.

Agents are forging ahead under these guidelines having received no contrary update during Tuesday's hook-up with the AFL Players' Association.


Among the notable unrestricted free agents are Carlton pair Marc Murphy and Matthew Kreuzer, Geelong trio Gary Ablett, Tom Hawkins and Harry Taylor, and West Coast star pair Andrew Gaff and Josh Kennedy.

Gaff signed a two-year extension at the end of 2018 with the option to a four-year trigger taking it to a six-year deal. reported last month that the star midfielder was expected to exercise the clause and stick with the Eagles long-term.

Carlton's Ed Curnow would have qualified for free agency at the end of the year but has confirmed he quietly signed a one-year contract extension before the season started tying him to the Blues until the end of 2021.

Hawthorn captain Ben Stratton is also among the unrestricted free agents at the club. There continues to be debate about how contracted players' deals beyond 2020 will be structured.

The AFL has put a halt on any new deals being struck with players and clubs during the COVID-19 break.


Brad Crouch (Adelaide)
Joe Daniher (Essendon)
Jeremy Cameron (GWS)
Zac Williams (GWS)
Aidan Corr (GWS)
Jack Viney (Melbourne)
Brad Ebert (Port Adelaide)


*Previously delisted
^Previously qualified as a free agent

Adelaide Crows

Ben Crocker (rookie)*
Rory Atkins
Kyle Hartigan
David MacKay
Ben Keays (rookie)*

Brisbane Lions

Sam Skinner (rookie)*
Matt Eagles (rookie)*
Jacob Allison (rookie)*
Corey Lyons (rookie)*
Stefan Martin
Ryan Lester
Grant Birchall^


Marc Murphy
Matthew Kreuzer
Levi Casboult
Eddie Betts^
Kade Simpson
Callum Moore (rookie)*
Hugh Goddard (rookie)*


Ben Reid
Tim Broomhead (rookie)*
Lynden Dunn (rookie)*^


Tom Bellchambers
Martin Gleeson
Will Snelling (rookie)*
Shaun McKernan*
Mitchell Hibberd (rookie)*
Jacob Townsend (rookie)*


David Mundy
Thomas North (rookie)*
Hugh Dixon (rookie)*


Geelong Cats

Tom Hawkins
Gary Ablett
Harry Taylor
Lachlan Henderson (rookie)*


Gold Coast Suns

Jarrod Harbrow
Anthony Miles*
George Horlin-Smith^
Josh Schoenfeld (rookie)*

GWS Giants

Sam Reid (rookie)*
Tom Sheridan (rookie)*
Zachary Sproule (rookie)*


Isaac Smith
Ben Stratton
James Frawley^
Ricky Henderson*^
Paul Puopolo
Shaun Burgoyne
Darren Minchington (rookie)*
Keegan Brooksby (rookie)*



Nathan Jones
Harley Bennell (rookie)*
Mitch Brown (rookie)*
Corey Wagner (rookie)*

North Melbourne

Taylor Garner
Mason Wood
Jamie Macmillan
Ben Jacobs
Majak Daw*
Josh Walker*
Kyron Hayden (rookie)*


Port Adelaide

Justin Westhoff
Riley Grundy (rookie)*
Boyd Woodcock (rookie)*
Cam Sutcliffe (rookie)*
Wylie Buzza*
Trent McKenzie*


Bachar Houli

St Kilda

Jarryn Geary
Nathan Brown^
Ryan Abbott*

Sydney Swans

Jack Maibaum*


West Coast Eagles

Andrew Gaff
Josh Kennedy
Shannon Hurn
Will Schofield
Hamish Brayshaw (rookie)*
Brendon Ah Chee (rookie)*
Mark Hutchings*
Jamaine Jones (rookie)*

Western Bulldogs

Billy Gowers*
Jackson Trengove^
Matthew Suckling^
Roarke Smith (rookie)*
Ryan Gardner (rookie)*
Taylor Duryea^
Tory Dickson
Lin Jong
Easton Wood

*Previously delisted
^Previously qualified as a free agent