- Five big names return for the Swans; Griffin a surprise for Freo
- Stevie J, Motlop back for the Cats and Hodge in for Hawks
- Myers, Steinberg picked for Dons while Roos bring back five
- Dan Jackson in Tigers squad as Power adds three

HAWTHORN full-back Brian Lake looks set for a crucial clash with Geelong spearhead Tom Hawkins in Friday night's second qualifying final, having convinced Hawks selectors he has overcome a corked hip suffered last week against Collingwood. 

The Cats will be bolstered by the return of Steve Johnson from a foot injury that has sidelined him for the past three rounds, with Hamish McIntosh and Steven Motlop also returning after being rested last weekend. 

Notably, Allen Christensen, who was also rested against the Brisbane Lions, has not been named.

The Hawks also regain captain Luke Hodge, Ben Stratton and Bradley Hill for the latest chapter in their epic rivalry with the Cats.

Other big, albeit expected, inclusions for the first week of the finals include Lance Franklin, Josh Kennedy (Sydney Swans), Nat Fyfe (Fremantle), Todd Goldstein and Lindsay Thomas (North Melbourne) and David Myers (Essendon). 

Billy Hartung, Ryan Schoenmakers and Angus Litherland go out of the Hawks' team, while Geelong has omitted Lincoln McCarthy, Billie Smedts and Mitch Brown.

Franklin and Kennedy are joined in the Swans' team for Saturday's clash with Fremantle at ANZ Stadium by Ben McGlynn, Mike Pyke and Craig Bird. 

Defender Heath Grundy has been named despite concerns he suffered a calf injury at training this week, while Tom Mitchell, Sam Naismith, Dean Towers, Zak Jones and Shane Biggs were omitted.

Fremantle has recalled defender Alex Silvagni to replace Michael Johnson, who will miss the entire finals series with a back injury, while Fyfe returns from a two-match suspension and ruckman Jonathon Griffin also comes back in.

Nick Suban (ankle) was also ruled out by the Dockers, while Hayden Crozier was omitted.

In addition to Goldstein and Thomas, North Melbourne welcomes back Luke McDonald and Michael Firrito after a week's rest for Saturday night's elimination final against Essendon at the MCG, while Levi Greenwood has overcome a minor calf injury.

The Roos were forced to rule out Lachlan Hansen (hip) and Leigh Adams (concussion) and dropped Aaron Mullett, Mason Wood and Daniel Currie.

Essendon regains Myers (illness) after he missed the Dons' round 23 draw with Carlton and also has recalled Ariel Steinberg. Patrick Ambrose and Orazio Fantasia have been dropped.

Both Port Adelaide and Richmond are yet to make any changes ahead of their elimination final clash at Adelaide Oval on Sunday.

Port has named Kane Mitchell, Cam O'Shea and Ben Newton in its extended squad of 25, while the Tigers have named last year's best and fairest winner Dan Jackson, Sam Lloyd and Matt Dea.

Friday, September 5

Hawthorn v Geelong at the MCG, 7.50pm AEST

In: L.Hodge, B.Stratton, B.Hill 
Out: R.Schoenmakers, A.Litherland, B.Hartung 

In: S.Johnson, H.McIntosh, S.Motlop 
Out: M.Brown, B.Smedts, L.McCarthy

Saturday, September 6

Sydney Swans v Fremantle at ANZ Stadium, 2.45pm AEST

Sydney Swans
In: B.McGlynn, L.Franklin, J.Kennedy, C.Bird, M.Pyke 
Out: T.Mitchell, S.Biggs, D.Towers, S.Naismith, Z.Jones

In: J.Griffin, A.Silvagni, N.Fyfe 
Out: M.Johnson (back), N.Suban (ankle), H.Crozier

North Melbourne v Essendon at the MCG, 7.15pm AEST

North Melbourne
In: M.Firrito, L.Thomas, L.Greenwood, T.Goldstein, L.McDonald 
Out: L.Adams (concussion), L.Hansen (hip), D.Currie, A.Mullett, M.Wood 

In: D.Myers, A.Steinberg 
Out: P.Ambrose, O.Fantasia  

Sunday, September 7

Port Adelaide v Richmond at Adelaide Oval, 2.50pm ACST

Port Adelaide
In: K.Mitchell, C.O'Shea, B.Newton
Out: - 

In: D.Jackson, S.Lloyd, M.Dea
Out: -