THE AFL's first night Grand Final will start at 6.30pm AEST (7.30pm AEDT).

The historic game at the Gabba is to be held on Saturday, October 24 and, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, will be the first time the Toyota AFL Grand Final is both held at night and outside of Victoria.

AFL executive general manager clubs and broadcasting Travis Auld said the 6.30pm bounce provided the industry with the greatest scope to maximise the advantages of the night timeslot.

CLASSICAL MOMENT Singer from The Voice to perform national anthem

"When making the decision we had to factor in daylight savings times in parts of the country, along with ensuring we and our broadcast partner, the Seven Network, had sufficient time leading into the opening bounce," Auld said.

AFL CEO Gillon McLachlan with the 2020 premiership cup. Picture: AFL Photos

"We were also cognisant of finishing the match at a suitable time for younger footy fans. The shortened game times this season should see the final siren blown and the 2020 premier officially crowned just before 10pm AEDT.

WEDNESDAY NIGHT LIGHTS Finals set for mid-week start

"Historically a really special part of Grand Final day is the build-up and anticipation, and we want to ensure we can share the electricity and atmosphere of the night with as many people as possible around the country.

"A night grand final is sure to be a fantastic spectacle for both the fans in stadium and the millions watching around the country and overseas."

LOCAL START TIMES BY STATE

AWST: 4.30pm – WA
ACST: 6pm – NT
AEST (local): 6.30pm – QLD
ACDT: 7pm - SA 
AEDT: 7.30pm - VIC, NSW, TAS, ACT

Twitter: @barrettdamian