COLLINGWOOD star Taylor Adams has celebrated a career-best season by claiming his first ever Copeland Trophy as the club's best and fairest on Tuesday night.

Adams, who had already capped his stellar year with a maiden AFL All-Australian blazer in September, blitzed the field to poll 100 votes and finish well clear of captain Scott Pendlebury in second and defender Jack Crisp in third.


Having arrived at the club ahead of the 2014 season from Greater Western Sydney, Adams was elevated to a vice-captaincy position in 2017 and finished runner-up in the Norm Smith Medal for the 2018 Grand Final.

REPORT CARD MVP, high point, trade plans, grade, more

But after recording three top-five finishes in the last five years, Adams now has a Collingwood best and fairest to show for his contributions to the club where he has played 120 of his 151 career games.

It comes after a superb season in which Adams averaged 22.6 disposals, 5.4 tackles and 5.2 clearances per game to firmly enhance his reputation as one of the team's most important midfielders.

00:28 Mins
Published on

Adams puts the finishing touches on a Pies masterclass

Collingwood star Taylor Adams caps off a great day for his side

Published on

That status was reflected by Adams' final lead in the Copeland Trophy count, with Pendlebury some way behind his vice-captain with 71 votes. Defensive trio Crisp (63 votes), Darcy Moore (62 votes) and Brayden Maynard (59 votes) rounded out the top-five.

Pendlebury's second-place finish was remarkably the 12th time from his 15 seasons at the club in which the ultra-consistent Magpies skipper has finished top-three in the Collingwood best and fairest.

Elsewhere, uncontracted duo Josh Daicos and Brody Mihocek were recognised with top-10 finishes, with the latter also receiving the Bob Rose Award for the best player in the finals and the Gordon Coventry Award for the club's leading goalkicker.

TRADE PERIOD STATE OF PLAY Who's going, who's undecided

Much-improved defender Isaac Quaynor claimed the Harry Collier Trophy as the club's best young player, while influential leader Jeremy Howe was recognised as the best clubman with the Darren Millane Perpetual Memorial Trophy.

The Copeland Trophy is decided by each member of the coaching panel awarding up to 22 votes for each game, with no minimum votes for any player. 

TOP 10

1. Taylor Adams (100 votes)
2. Scott Pendlebury (71 votes)
3. Jack Crisp (63 votes)
4. Darcy Moore (62 votes)
5. Brayden Maynard (59 votes)
6. Josh Daicos (50 votes)
7. Jamie Elliott (47 votes)
7. Brodie Grundy (47 votes)
9. Brody Mihocek (46 votes)
9. John Noble (46 votes)

Gavin Brown Award (Pressure): Taylor Adams
Bob Rose Award (Player of the Finals): Brody Mihocek
Gordon Coventry Award (Leading Goalkicker): Brody Mihocek (25 goals)
Harry Collier Trophy (Best Young Player): Isaac Quaynor
Darren Millane Perpetual Memorial Trophy (Best Clubman): Jeremy Howe
Joseph Wren Award (Best VFL Player): Nathan Murphy