ALL-AUSTRALIAN ruckman Nic Naitanui has capped an outstanding individual season by winning West Coast's club champion award on Monday night.

Naitanui won his first John Worsfold Medal in thrilling circumstances, overtaking midfield teammate Andrew Gaff by polling maximum votes in the elimination final loss to Collingwood and winning by two votes.

00:51 Mins
Published on

Nic Nat catches a snap and sends one of his own home

Nic Naitanui delights the West Coast faithful with a beautiful snap at goal

Published on

The achievement follows Naitanui's selection in the 2020 AFL All-Australian team as the No.1 ruckman in his first full season back from his second knee reconstruction, and his seventh-place finish in the AFL Coaches Association Award.

ALL-AUSTRALIAN TEAM Check out who made the cut

The 30-year-old, whose highest club champion finish was previously fifth in 2010, is the second ruckman to win the award after champion big man Dean Cox in 2008.

He dominated opponents in the shortened 2020 season, leading all ruckman for centre clearances (2.6), clearances (5.6) and ranking No.4 for hit-outs (29.1).

It was an emphatic reminder of his talents after undergoing his second knee reconstruction late in 2018, which sidelined him for that year's premiership and, combined with a serious ankle injury, for the bulk of the 2019 campaign. 

Naitanui polled 194 votes, with runner-up Gaff (192) acknowledged for a consistent season with his ninth successive top-10 finish, including first place in 2015 and eight top-five finishes.

All Australian defender Brad Sheppard (163 votes) was rewarded for another excellent season with a third-place finish, ahead of key defender Tom Barrass (154) and much-improved backman Liam Duggan (152).

00:32 Mins
Published on

Nic Nat pushes traffic aside and drives through

Eagles ruckman Nic Naitanui does brilliantly to conjure space in the forward line and complete a clever snap

Published on

One of the leading contenders ahead of Monday night's event was All-Australian forward Liam Ryan, who finished in sixth place with 150 votes.

Star recruit Tim Kelly (148) finished seventh, ahead of key forward Jack Darling (145).

The late-season form of veteran pair Josh Kennedy (131) and Shannon Hurn (127) saw the spearhead and former skipper round out the top 10.

Sheppard was awarded the Chris Mainwaring Medal as best clubman, while young defender Josh Rotham was recognised as the club's best emerging talent.  

Captain Luke Shuey (13 games) and star midfielder Elliot Yeo (10) have split the previous four club champion awards but were restricted by injury in 2020.

2020 John Worsfold Medal top 10  

1. Nic Naitanui (194)
2. Andrew Gaff (192)
3. Brad Sheppard (163)
4. Tom Barrass (154)
5. Liam Duggan (152)
6. Liam Ryan (150)
7. Tim Kelly (148)
8. Jack Darling (145)
9. Josh Kennedy (131)
10. Shannon Hurn (127)