FORMER AFL champions Tony Modra, Chad Cornes, Matthew Primus and Tyson Edwards were among 10 contributors to South Australian football inducted into the SA Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday night.

Former South Adelaide wingman and 1943 Richmond premiership player Lawrence Cahill, four-time Norwood premiership player Philip Gallagher, nine-time Central District premiership twins James and Chris Gowans, North Adelaide premiership player and Adelaide premiership assistant coach Darel Hart and celebrated umpire Tim Pfeiffer joined the four.

Modra was a four-time leading goalkicker and dual All Australian for the Crows. He took out the Coleman Medal in 1997 and won Mark of the Year three times. Modra joined Fremantle in 1999.

Primus won Norwood's best and fairest in 1995 before joining Fitzroy and then the Power, where he took out the 2002 John Cahill Medal and was made All Australian twice in 2001-02.

Runner-up for Adelaide's Malcolm Blight Medal times, Edwards won two flags with the Crows (1997-98) and played 321 games before joining the Power as an assistant coach.

Cornes was the rock in the Power's defence in their 2004 premiership and became a dual All Australian before joining Greater Western Sydney, where he played 16 games to take his overall tally to 239 games. He is now an assistant coach with the Giants.

Twitter: @AFL_Harry