FORWARDS Eddie Betts and Tom Lynch have been voted into Adelaide's leadership group for the first time, while Rory Sloane has been elevated to vice-captain. 

Adelaide announced its 2017 leadership group on Monday, with Taylor Walker to continue as Crows captain for a third-straight season, supported by Betts, Lynch, Rory Sloane, Scott Thompson and Daniel Talia.

Three players from the Crows' 2016 leadership group will not hold official leadership roles this season – Sam Jacobs, Richard Douglas and retired former captain Nathan van Berlo. 

The appointments of Betts and Lynch reflect the impact both have had at West Lakes since crossing from Carlton (at the end of 2013) and St Kilda (at the end of 2012) respectively. 

Betts, 30, has topped the Crows' goalkicking in each of his three seasons at the club, while the hard-running Lynch, a first-round draft pick in 2008, has played 77 of his 83 games with Adelaide. 

"Taylor has done an exceptional job as captain during my time at the club and has fittingly been returned to the role," Adelaide coach Don Pyke said. 

"Rory is a great leader on and off the field for our players and he has deservedly been selected vice-captain. Daniel and Scott were both influential with their leadership last year and will continue to play an important role in 2017.

"Excitingly, Tom and Eddie have been recognised for their commitment to our team values and have been added to the group and both will be key contributors this season." 

The Crows leadership group was elected via a player vote and the endorsement of senior club staff. 

Adelaide’s 2017 leadership group
Taylor Walker (captain)
Rory Sloane (vice-captain)
Scott Thompson
Daniel Talia
Eddie Betts (new)
Tom Lynch (new)