A NEW name will be added to the list of VFLW greats when the prestigious Lambert-Pearce Medal for the competition’s best-and-fairest player is announced on Thursday night.

The medal, which honours women’s football pioneer Helen Lambert, who died in August, and the competition’s greatest player in seven-time winner Daisy Pearce, will be the feature of an event hosted by Nigel Carmody and Nat Edwards on vfl.com.au from 7pm.

There are plenty of contenders to join Darebin stars Pearce, Katie Brennan and Lauren Pearce and Williamstown’s Jess Duffin as the fifth winner of the VFLW award, and also add their name to a VWFL honour roll that includes the great Debbie Lee, Shannon McFerran and Sharon Bonnici.

ON THE PRESPAKIS OF GREATNESS Family wins again, Chargers dominate awards

North Melbourne star Meagan Kiely topped the average disposal standings this season with 337 at 24.1, plus the marks tally with 74 at 5.3 and must be considered a chance, while Essendon skipper Georgia Nanscawen was the highest possession winner with 352 at 23.5 and the best tackler with 10.5 per match.

70:01 Mins
Published on

2021 VFL & VFLW Awards

The 2021 VFL and VFLW Awards Ceremony will be held on Thursday October 7 from 6.30 AEDT to recognise and reward the outstanding year of football in the VFL and rebel VFLW Competition. The major virtual event will be broadcast across the VFL websit...

Published on

Casey Demons young gun Eliza West (22.3), Geelong’s Laura Gardiner (21.3) and Kangaroo Molly Eastman (21) also averaged big numbers throughout a full season.

Tamara Luke, who started the season with the Southern Saints before returning to Hawthorn when her AFLW contract ended, was the dominant ruck in the competition, averaging 22.3 hitouts, 4.6 marks and 15.8 disposals in a powerhouse season, while Cat Olivia Barber was another to star in that role.

And Collingwood's unbeaten year is certain to draw plenty of attention, with the prolific Mikala Cann, full-forward Imogen Barnett, Caitlin Bunker and Maddy Shevlin all tipped to be among the votes.

Collingwood players celebrate on the final siren of the 2021 VFLW semi-final. Picture: AFL Photos

West is one of five nominees for the Debbie Lee Award for the VFLW's most promising player after her great year for the Demons, but she has plenty of competition, with Williamstown best-and-fairest winner Ruby Tripodi, Essendon livewire Alana Barba, Magpie Marla Neal and the Saints' Gabriella De Angelis all live chances to claim the honour.

The Ann Rulton Award for Volunteer of the Year will also be presented at the ceremony, as will the rebel VFLW Team and Coach of the Year and the Rohenna Young Medal for the leading goalkicker.

In the VFL, while there is no J.J. Liston Trophy this season due to the uneven number of games played by each club, all the other awards will be presented, headed by the prestigious Fothergill-Round-Mitchell Medal for the most promising talent under the age of 24 at the start of the season.

The VFL Team and Coach of the Year will also be named, as will the Alex Gillon Award for Volunteer of the Year and the Jim “Frosty” Miller Medal for leading goalkicker, while two new life members will also be inducted.

Twitter: @BRhodesVFL

The VFL/VFLW Awards Ceremony, featuring the Lambert-Pearce Medal for the VFLW best-and-fairest, will be streamed on vfl.com.au from 6.30pm on Thursday, October 7.

Daisy Pearce after Melbourne's AFLW win in round seven, 2021. Picture: AFL Photos


2019: Lauren Pearce (Darebin) 
2018: Jess Duffin (Williamstown)
Katie Brennan (Darebin)
Daisy Pearce (Darebin)


2016: Emma Grant (Bendigo)
2015: Daisy Pearce (Darebin)
2014: Daisy Pearce (Darebin)
2013: Daisy Pearce (Darebin)
2012: Lou Wotton (Eastern Devils)
2011: Daisy Pearce (Darebin)
2010: Daisy Pearce (Darebin), Lou Wotton (East Burwood)
2009: Daisy Pearce (Darebin)
2008: Cecilia McIntosh (Melbourne University)
2007: Shannon McFerran (St Albans)
2006: Shannon McFerran (St Albans)
2005: Shannon McFerran (St Albans)
2004: Meg Hutchins (Deakin)
2003: Shannon McFerran (St Albans)
2002: Shannon McFerran (St Albans)
2001: Debbie Lee (Sunshine YCW)
2000: Sharon Bonnici (St Kilda City)
1999: Sharon Bonnici (St Kilda City)
1998: Sharon Bonnici (St Kilda City)
1997: Bronwyn Hutchinson (Ballarat)
1996: Debbie Lee (Sunshine YCW)
1995: Debbie Lee (Sunshine YCW)
1994: Doreen De Pasquale (St Kilda City), Debbie Lee (Sunshine YCW)
1993: Debbie Lee (Sunshine YCW)
1992: Kris Gardiner (Fairfield)
1991: Bronwyn Hutchinson (Ballarat)
1990: Rhonda Rumler (Ballarat)
1989: Lisa Hardeman (Parkville)
1988: Doreen De Pasquale (Ballarat), Bernie Marantelli (Parkville)
1987: Bernie Marantelli (Parkville)
1986: Tracey Winch (Ferntree Gully)
1985: Siobhan Taylor (Gladstone Park)
1984: Maree Cave (Broadmeadows)
1983: Maree Cave (Broadmeadows)